Rajasthan retain core of Ranji champion squad for Irani Cup

Published: Sunday, September 25, 2011, 0:00 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Rajasthan retain Ranji champion squad

Jaipur, Sept 24: Almost all the members of the Rajasthan team that won Ranji Trophy last year have been retained for the Irani Cup match against Rest of India which is scheduled to be held here from October 1-5.

The two other outstation veterans Aakash Chopra and Rashmi Ranjan Parida are all set to play for Rajasthan this season also. The two medium pacers Deepak Chahar who made a sensational debut and India discard Pankaj Singh will lead the new ball attack.

The only players who are missing from the champion squad are spinner Vivek Yadav and pacer Raman Charah.

However there are injury concerns for the Ranji champions with key players like Pankaj, Chahar, Menaria and Parida are yet to recover from their injuries.

It has been learnt that selection committee headed by former Ranji Trophy player Vivekbhan Singh chose to overlook the current fitness status as most of them have submitted fitness certificates.

Squad: Hrishikesh Kanitkar (captain), Aakash Chopra, Vineet Saxena, Rashmi Ranjan Parida, Ashok Menaria, Robin Bisht, Dishant Yagyanik, Pankaj Singh, Deepak Chahar, Sumit Mathur, Aniket Choudhary, Madhur Khatri, Gajendra Singh, Rohit Jhalani, Vaibhav Deshpande.

Coach- Amit Asawa; Reserves- Manjit Singh, Pranay Sharma.


Read more about: ranji trophy, rajasthan
Write Comments