England bowlers restrict India to 120 runs

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, October 29, 2011, 18:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

England bowlers restrict India to 120

Kolkata, Oct 29: England bolwers restricted India to a total of 120. England bowlers did the damage from the first over, not allowing the Indian batsmen to settle early. England need 121 runs to win in the one-off twenty20 match played at Eden Gardens in kolkata.


Indian Batsmen were totally outplayed by the English bowlers. Suresh Raina was the top-scorer with 39 runs though India had a strong batting line-up with the likes of Virat Kohli, Yusuf Pathan and Robin Uthappa.

After Steven Finn striked twice, Ravi Bopara also claimed two wickets of Yusuf Pathan and Praveen Kumar. Yusuf Pathan was bowled by an inswinging quicker from Bopara. Praveen Kumar was bowled out in the same way by Ravi Bopara.

After the dismissal of Kohli, Manoj Tiwary joined Raina in the middle to score a quick partnership of 40 runs to keep India steady after early blows. Tiwary scoring 15 runs was bowled by Samit Patel while trying to sweep. Wrong shot selection and timing of a straight ball hit the off-stump.

Steven Finn striked twice in two balls to dismiss dangerous Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja. Soon after the wicket of Tiwary, Suresh Raina was caught by Bairstow at point. Raina hit a slow short wide ball from Steven Finn but couldn't get it over Bairstow. Ravindra Jadeja was bowled by Finn in the next delivery with the help of a thick inside edge.

Virat Kohli had a good start hitting three four's, scoring 15 runs off 15 balls, but fell victim to a slower ball by Tim Bresnan. Kohli tried to go for a big shot but was caught in long-on by a splendid effort by Alex Hales who had to cover a lot of distance from mid-wicket to grab the spectacular catch.

India lost two quick wickets as openers Ajinkya Rahane and Robin Uthappa were dismissed in the first two overs.

Steven Finn striked early as Ajinkya Rahane who tried to play a big drive to a good length ball outside the off stump gets a thick edge which travels quickly to Kieswetter who takes a good catch with one hand.

Robin Uthappa gets out for zero in similar fashion while coming down the track to face a wide short ball outside off stump getting an edge for another catch taken by Kieswetter who makes no mistake. High hopes were on Uthappa as he makes a return to international cricket after three years.

Earlier Indian Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to bat first in the lone twenty20 against England played at the Eden Gardens in kolkata.

Graeme Swann takes over as England captain for the Twenty20 game. Kevin Pietersen is back after he injured his left thumb. For India, Yusuf Pathan and Robin Uthappa have been included in place of Gautam Gambhir and Parthiv Patel.


India: Robin Uthappa, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar.

England: Craig Kieswetter, Alex Hales, Kevin Pietersen, Ravi Bopara, Jonathan Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Samit Patel, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann (C), Steven Finn, Jade Dernbach.


Write Comments