Harbhajan, Yuvraj left out for Australia tour

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, November 26, 2011, 13:15 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bhajji ignored again, Yuvi left out

Mumbai, Nov 26: BCCI's selection committee on Saturday ignored Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and middle order batsman Yuvraj Singh, while Suresh Raina has not been picked for the tour of Australia which begins on Monday, December 26.

Medium pacer Praveen Kumar, who was part of the squad against England, replaces leggie Rahul Sharma, who was part of the test series against Windies but did not a play a match. Zaheer Khan will join the team subject to match fitness.

Spinners Pragyan Ojha and Ravichandran Ashwin have been retained in the India squad for the four-Test series.

Bengal wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha was also named in the 17-member squad ahead of Parthiv Patel but there were no other major surprises in the team announced by the BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale after a meeting of the selection committee in Mumbai.

The selectors more or less retained the core of the team that has been doing duty in the ongoing series against the West Indies which meant that Harbhajan continued to be in the wilderness.

Yuvraj Singh, who was not considered for selection for the ODI series against the West Indies after he declared himself unfit, was also not included in the team which has five pacers, including Zaheer, and two specialist spinners in Pragyan Ojha and R Ashwin.

Mumbai batsman Ajinkya Rahane, who has made quite an impression in the few opportunities he has got, has been retained in the team while fit-again Rohit was recalled.

The Test series against Australia will begin with the Boxing Day (December 26) Test in Melbourne, followed by three other matches in Sydney (Jany 3-7), in Perth (Jan 13-17) and in Adelaide (Jan 24-28).

Squad: MS Dhoni (C), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Virat Kohli, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Rohit Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Praveen Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Zaheer Khan


Write Comments