Shakib-al-Hasan's century puts B'desh on top

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, December 17, 2011, 13:27 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cheema claims 3 wickets, B'desh 229/5

Dhaka, Dec 17: Bangladesh steady as Shakib-al-Hasan's century helps the team score 229/5 after losing three wickets early on Day One of the second Test against Pakistan at Dhaka.

[Scorecard: 2nd Test; Pakistan Vs Bangladesh, Dhaka]

Pakistan's Aizaz Cheema claims 3 wickets early on Day one to help Pakistan take edge as Bangladesh batsmen struggled to score runs during the first session. The Shahriar Nafees and Shakib-al-hasan contributed 180 runs for the 5th wicket, as it brought the country's first century partnership since June 2010.

Successful partnership came to an end as Nafeez was dismissed by Umar gul 3 short of his second Test century. Shakib-al-hasan (104*) and Mushfiqur Rahim (4*) are currently trying to regain the momentum that was lost after Nafeez's dismissal.

The duo played magnificently as they rescued the team which was on the verge of another batting collapse as Bangladesh were struggling after being reduced to 43/4.

After a 75 minutes delay due to dense fog, the match started as Misbah put Bangladesh batsmen to bat, as the bowlers reciprocated especially Cheema as his figures at the end of the first spell read 8-2-18-3 -amazing spell.

After an innings defeat, and their inability to contain the Pakistani batsmen in the first test, Bangladesh opted for an additional pace bowler making two changes in the team. Nazmul Hossain replaced batsman Mohammad Ashraful while Robiul Islam came in for the injured Rubel Hossain.

While Pakistan play the second and the final test with an unchanged team as they hesitated to make changes to their winning squad.


Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Shahriar Nafees, Shakib Al Hasan, Nazmul Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Elias Sunny, Shahadat Hossain, Robiul Islam.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umar, Younus Khan, Misbah ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Adnan Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Umar Gul, Aizaz Cheema.


Write Comments