Preview: Confident India face winless Sri Lanka

Posted by:
Published: Monday, February 13, 2012, 12:29 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: India meet Sri Lanka on Tuesday

Adelaide, Feb 13: MS Dhoni played like a captain against Australia on Sunday to lift India to a nerve-wracking four-wicket victory. Now, the team will have to build on that success and focus on securing a final berth in the tri-series as they meet Sri Lanka again on Tuesday.

Also read: Out-of-form players need rest not Tendulkar

The format of tri-series is such that you hardly have time to think of the previous game as you are already preparing for the next one. After a confidence boosting win at the Adelaide Oval, India will look to get the better of Sri Lanka once more at the same venue.

In their previous meeting in Perth, India had beaten Sri Lanka by four wickets.

With Sachin Tendulkar being the latest victim of rotation policy, who will be the next to sit out of the game against Mahela Jayawardene-led side?

It will be between the top three and now might be the turn of out-of-form Virender Sehwag again to make way for Tendulkar. With debate raging over Tendulkar's omission on Sunday, he is likely to return to the top of the order to open with Gautam Gambhir.

Umesh Yadav, who came in for Praveen Kumar, impressed and should keep his place. The batting order will remain the same and India will be the favourites to keep Sri Lanka winless in the tri-series.

Sri Lanka, through all-rounder Angelo Mathews, showed enough character towards the end of their five-run loss to Australia in Perth last Friday. But their batting is yet to click. Bowling is largely dependent on Lasith Malinga.

India, buoyed by Australian win, should end up on the right side again on Tuesday. But, at the same time Sri Lanka cannot be taken lightly and Dhoni and his boys should be ready for a good challenge.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma, Parthiv Patel, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Chanaka Welegedera, Dhammika Prasad.

Umpires: Nigel Llong (England) and Simon Fry (Australia)

Third Umpire: Bruce Oxenford (Australia)

Match Referee: Andrew Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

Match starts at 8.50 AM IST

For live ball by ball commentary, regular updates and reports, visit www.thatscricket.com


Write Comments