Who will replace Yuvraj in Pune team for IPL 5?

Posted by:
Published: Monday, February 13, 2012, 17:51 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Who will replace Yuvraj in IPL 5?

The good news for Pune Warriors is that BCCI is willing to allow the Sahara Group owned IPL team to have a replacement for Yuvraj Singh.

Yuvraj, who was bought by Pune for $1.8 million during last year's auction, is ruled out of IPL 5 as he is undergoing treatment in the US for malignant lung tumour.

Sahara, on the day of IPL 5 auction in Bangalore on February 4, had announced that they would pull their team out of the IPL due to differences with the BCCI. They also withdrew their long term sponsorship of Team India.

One of the issues which led to Sahara-BCCI fallout was that the Pune team's request to include Yuvraj's price into their funds for auction was refused by the Indian Board.

However, after the BCCI Working Committee's meeting in Chennai on Monday, while other issues relating to Sahara's sponsorship with the Indian team remained unresolved, they have granted Yuvraj's replacement as the board feels it is within the rules.

So what are the options Pune have, to pick a suitable player who can come in place of Yuvraj. Here we have picked some of the batsmen who remained unsold during the February 4 auction. Pune could choose from one of these or might opt for someone else as well. We have to see what Pune decides to do. So far they have not reacted to BCCI's offer.

The list includes recent Australian ODI debutant Peter Forrest. He impressed one and all with a fine 66 against India at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday during a tri-series game. There is also veteran Indian batsman VVS Laxman, who was not picked by any franchise in the auction. There are also big hitters like Justin Kemp, Jacob Oram, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith, Luke Wright and Ravi Bopara.

List of some of the batsmen who went unsold at the IPL 5 auction in Bangalore on February 4, 2012 with their base prices.

1. VVS Laxman ($400,000) India
2. Luke Wright ($200,000) England
3. Kevin O'Brien ($50,000) Ireland
4. Dwayne Smith ($100,000) West Indies
5. Ravi Bopara ($100,000) England
6. Marlon Samuels ($100,000) West Indies
7. Justin Kemp ($100,000) South Africa
8. Adrian Barath ($50,000) West Indies
9. Ramnaresh Sarwan ($100,000) West Indies
10. Ian Bell ($200,000) England
11. Tamim Iqbal ($50,000) Bangladesh
12. Lendl Simmons ($50,000) West Indies
13. Jacob Oram ($100,000) New Zealand
14. Peter Forrest ($50,000) Australia
15. Moises Henriques ($50,000) Australia


Write Comments