Did a five-ball over deny India a victory?

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, February 14, 2012, 18:02 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Five-ball over denied India a victory?

Adelaide, Feb 14: Minutes after Indian skipper MS Dhoni scored three runs off the last ball to tie the fifth ODI against Sri Lanka in the ongoing tri-series at the Adelaide Oval on Tuesday, one of the few things that went unnoticed was a five-ball over bowled by Sri Lankan paceman Lasith Malinga.

Both India and Sri Lanka ended on identical scores of 236/9 in 50 overs. Rather should we say India received only 49.5 overs!

A few might argue that India were denied victory because of that one ball. It could have made a difference to this exciting tie but both players and umpires Nigel Long of England and Australia's Simon Fry failed to take note of that error.

Captain Dhoni, however, downplayed that error, saying: "Match is over now, we can't do anything." He said this in his post-match press conference.

Moreover, it was a bad delivery from Malinga in the final over that gave India a lifeline, but with one delivery short did he deny India a victory is one question that has left the fans pondering!

However, Sri Lanka missed two run-out chances which could have tilted the result in their favour.

How could the umpires miss out on this 30th over which was as a five-ball affair and surprisingly there was no discussion about the same, which has led to more speculation.

While such things are commonly discussed, after any loss, if's and but's generally make news, but such a mistake by the umpires shouldn't have gone unnoticed.

All said and done, the match is over with enough tense moments till the last ball. Who knows, India could have won if there was another ball!


Write Comments