Adelaide, Feb 15: Indian skipper MS Dhoni took a dig at the Umpire's Decision Review System (DRS) while he also said that the team is not planning to lodge an official complaint as there was an unusual five-ball over in the 30th over of the innings, which could have proved vital as the match against Sri Lanka ended in a tie on Tuesday.
A small error by the officials gave an opportunity for Dhoni to take a dig at DRS and the technology that is available for not ensuring the proper counting of the balls, and blindly follow DRS?
Further, he stressed that the coach Duncan Fletcher had pointed out the error, but according to the rules, the third umpire should have interfered and asked the fielding side to bowl the ball to complete the over, but that did not happen in the tri-series ODI between India and Sri Lanka in Adelaide on Tuesday.
Though this might lead to a controversy, the Indian captain said that the team is not looking at creating a controversy about the five-ball over as it could have been a dot ball too.
"Duncan (Fletcher, the coach) told me about it," Dhoni said. "There have been five-ball overs in the past, but we have seen the third umpire interfere and you have to come back and bowl that ball. Usually that's what has happened to us also. It didn't happen in this game, fair enough. Nothing much can be done now.
"I don't know (if a full over might have broken the tie) because you could have had a dot ball. It happens in cricket, so maybe it would have been a dot."
"We can create a big fuss out of it but what's the point? It's like a controversy standing right at the edge, just about to happen, because we have seen in the past that we have bowled an over and they have almost changed ends. But then the third umpire interferes and says, 'Okay you have to bowl one more ball in this particular over," Dhoni said.
While talking about the five-ball over and his views on not creating a fuss, he also took a dig on the DRS.
"If this can happen then I don't know why people back DRS so much. We have seen people happy with DRS in one series as long as it goes in their favour. Once it doesn't go in their favour, they are quite unhappy about it so. I am quite happy with three individuals. If I am not wrong, two umpires in the middle and the match referee and the scorer (are there), and it has still happened. Better off accepting it because we humans are bound to make mistakes."
Interestingly, Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene too confessed that he was not aware of the error, while it also happens to be the second best over according to India as Gambhir and Dhoni managed to get nine runs off five balls (30th Over) bowled by Lasith Malinga.
Though this issue might not be controversial, Dhoni's comments on DRS also shows that, something needs to be done in order to overcome such errors which are very unusual but look very prominent.