Absence of DRS, reason for five-ball over: ICC, CA

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, February 16, 2012, 15:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Blame absence of DRS for 5-ball over: CA

Sydney, Feb 15: Lasith Malinga's five-ball over during Tuesday's ODI between India and Sri Lanka may have caused a lot of controversy but the ICC and Cricket Australia dismissed the incident as a mistake.

The ICC said, "a straightforward, honest mistake by the umpiring team." Meanwhile Cricket Australia had similar thoughts. "International umpires, like international players, perform to a high level but like players, they are human and make mistakes from time to time. But once a decision is made, it's made and we get on with the game," a CA spokesperson was quoted as saying by The Daily Telegraph.

Absence of DRS was also seen as a reason for this rare and internationally embarrassing incident.

According to newspaper, "communications between the host broadcaster, the third umpire in the stands and the on-field umpires are greatly reduced when the DRS (decision review system) is not in operation."

Indian skipper MS Dhoni hit three of the last ball to draw the match with both teams finishing on 236/9.

The on-field umpires Simon Fry and Nigel Llong, video umpire Bruce Oxenford, match referee Andy Pycroft, bowler Lasith Malinga and the players on the field, failed to realise this blunder which ended in a tie.


Write Comments