हिन्दीಕನ್ನಡമലയാളംதமிழ்తెలుగు

Dhoni takes a dig at DRS again

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, February 16, 2012, 18:12 [IST]
 
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dhoni takes a dig at DRS again

Sydney, Feb 16: Lasith Malinga's five-ball over during India's ODI tri series clash against Sri Lanka, which ended in a tie has been described by the ICC and Cricket Asutralia as a mistake by the umpiring team but India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has indirectly suggested that India is correct in not relying on the Decision Review System (DRS).

"There have been five-ball overs in the past, but we have seen the third umpire interfere and you have to come back and bowl that ball," Dhoni said.

"Usually that's what has happened to us also. It didn't happen in this game, fair enough. Nothing much can be done now," he added.

"I don't know (if India would have won) because you could have had a dot ball. It happens in cricket, so maybe it would have been a dot," Dhoni said.

Dhoni said: "It's done and dusted. That's what is important. We can create a big fuss out of it but what's the point?"

However, taking a dig at the DRS, the Indian skipper said: "If this can happen then I don't know why people back DRS so much."

"We have seen people happy with DRS in one series as long as it goes in their favour. Once it doesn't go in their favour, they are quite unhappy about it," he added.

The ICC has played down the incident as "a straightforward, honest mistake by the umpiring team," The Fox News reports.

Cricket Australia said: "International umpires, like international players, perform to a high level but like players, they are human and make mistakes from time to time. But once a decision is made, it's made and we get on with the game." The five balls were delivered in the 30th over of the match, which ended in a tie.

ThatsCricket

Write Comments