Preview: In-form India aim for another victory

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, February 18, 2012, 13:59 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: India eye another victory

Brisbane, Feb 18: Amid all the gloom arising out of the Test series drubbing in Australia, 50-over World Champions India have plenty of reasons to smile in the shorter format as they sit on top of the tri-series points table. They come face to face with Australia again in another match of the long tri-nation tournament here on Sunday.

Also read: Brisbane, a lucky venue for India

The competition has reached the half way stage and India are ahead of the other two teams with 10 points from four games.

However, both Australia and Sri Lanka are not far away from the leaders and one win or loss can pull India down. All three teams have played four matches apiece and Australia are in second with nine points followed by Sri Lanka with seven.

Captain MS Dhoni has been instrumental in turning team's fortunes around and he will again be under the spotlight. Dhoni is now one of the best finishers of the One Day game. If India are again in pursuit of a target, he will be the key.

Opener Virender Sehwag, who has been out of form, is likely to sit out of this game. He missed the previous game against Sri Lanka due to back spasms. Gautam Gambhir is in fine form, scoring twin 90s and he will walk out with Sachin Tendulkar to face the new ball.

India's Vinay Kumar has been excellent with the ball and he will have to provide the team with early wickets. Opener David Warner has been kept quiet so far and India need to keep him that way on Sunday too.

Australia are wobbling at the moment with batting and bowling problems and also Michael Clarke is yet to recovery from his hamstring injury. In his absence, Ricky Ponting will be leading the side for the second time in three days.

On Friday, the hosts were comprehensively beaten by Sri Lanka. The Islanders won that rain-curtailed game handsomely with a bonus point.

For the first time on the tour, India will be playing at the Gabba, Brisbane. It is expected to be a batting wicket and fast bowlers will also benefit a bit.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), David Warner, Peter Forrest, Dan Christian, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Matthew Wade, Brett Lee, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mitchell Starc, Xavier Doherty, Clint McKay, Mitch Marsh, George Bailey, Jon Holland.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma, Parthiv Patel, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Steve Davis (Australia)

Third Umpire: Bruce Oxenford (Australia)

Match Referee: Andrew Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

Match starts at 8.50 AM IST

For ball by ball commentary, live updates, reports visit www.thatscricket.com


Write Comments