हिन्दीಕನ್ನಡമലയാളംதமிழ்తెలుగు

Brisbane ODI: When Captain Cool lost his cool

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, February 19, 2012, 12:36 [IST]
 
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Brisbane ODI: Another umpiring error

Brisbane, Feb 19: An umpiring error in the ODI tri-series against Australia at Gabba, made the usual captain cool MS Dhoni of India to raise his voice, followed by a hot argument with the umpire during the 29th over of the Australian innings.

There was confusion all around as Suresh Raina bowled from round the wicket and beat Michael Hussey on the off side, as the batsman got his back foot back as part of his foot-wear was behind the crease. Dhoni and the rest appealed for a stumping and the decision went to third umpire Bruce Oxenford.

Dhoni was confident about his appeal and the TV screen too flashed "OUT", which was followed by an Indian huddle. Before it actually sunk in, the on-field umpire Billy Bowden of New Zealand stopped Michael Hussey who was on his way back to the pavilion after being declared out, was surprised and pleased to go back to the crease as ordered by the umpires, Bowden and Australian Steve Davies.

In the end, the right decision was made.

Bowden told M. Hussey that the third umpire had pressed the wrong button, while this error by the third umpire Oxenford did not go well with Captain Cool as he had a steaming argument with the on-field umpires.

The commentators Wasim Akram and Ravi Shastri could not tolerate this error as they the former sarcastically said, "Come on, there are just two buttons there. You have to push one of them and you can't do that right. Amazing."

While Ravi Shastri was also not in favour of the third umpire as he said, "Being a third umpire, that's what you get to do in a whole day's work, can't go wrong on that."

For the second consecutive time, there has been an umpiring error for Team India, as it also happened during their previous encounter against Sri Lanka which ended in a tie, which raised quite a few eyebrows as Lasith Malinga bowled a five-ball over in the 30th over of Indian innings, which could have been in favour of India if that ball was bowled as they needed 4 off 1 ball (49.5 overs).

Dhoni had earlier expressed disappointment over umpiring errors after their tie against Sri Lanka on Tuesday.

ThatsCricket

Write Comments