Michael Clarke wins Allan Border Medal

Posted by:
Published: Monday, February 27, 2012, 18:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Clarke wins Allan Border Medal

Melbourne, Feb 27: Australia captain Michael Clarke won the Allan Border Medal for the third time in his career.

Clarke took over as captain in March last year and has been named Australia'a cricketer of the year ahead of Michael Hussey.

Clarke managed to get 231 votes ahead of Hussey's 174 while Shane Watson came third with 166 votes as players, media and umpires voted.

Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting, who was dropped from the ODI squad, finished fourth with 141 votes.

Clarke was also ahead of Ponting in claiming the Test player of the year after winning the vote on countback.

Clarke and Ponting both received nine votes but the former was given the award as he polled more major votes.

Watson overtook Clarke on a countback to win the one-day international award along with the twenty20 prize while 25-year-old David Warner won the Bradman Young Cricketer of the year award.

Legendary spinner Shane Warne, who retired in 2007 after claiming a total of 708 Test wickets, was officially inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame at the awards ceremony in Melbourne on Monday night.


Write Comments