Sydney, Feb 27: Indian captain MS Dhoni was clearly unhappy with how umpires handled Sachin Tendulkar's run out and David Hussey's obstructing the field incidents during the team's 87-run loss to Australia in the tri-series at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Sunday.
Also read: Controversy in Sydney
Tendulkar was given run out after he was beaten by a David Warner direct hit. However, Tendulkar, attempting for a quick single had to clearly run around Lee who was in Tendulkar's way after completing his follow through.
Umpire Simon Taufel of Australia, who was at the square leg, declared Tendulkar out. But Dhoni felt, New Zealander Billy Bowden, who was at the striker's end, should have intervened and conveyed the message to Taufel about how Lee was standing Tendulkar's way.
"It was unfair on Sachin as he had to make that extra yard," Dhoni said at the post-match press conference at SCG on Sunday.
He continued: "I think umpire Billy (Bowden) should have said something because he was in a position to see where the bowler was and what happened. It was very difficult for Simon (Taufel) to take a call for he had no clue which angle the batsman was running and where Lee actually stopped."
The Indian skipper was upset because the umpires were not consistent in following the procedures as in one of the previoius games, the umpires had warned Vinay for coming in batsmen's way.
"I need to give an example of what happened in the Brisbane game that I was playing in (on February 19). Vinay Kumar was bowling, we had a slip and we didn't have a midwicket. The ball went towards point and Vinay crossed over to go towards midwicket to have a shy at the stumps but the umpire disallowed him. Vinay was doing something that's well within the laws of the game," he said.
"So I don't think you can justify that (Brett) Lee was going towards the point fielder ( David Warner). I don't think he had real business there and then he decided to stop right in front of Sachin and he had to take a longer way across Lee. That's my reading about that particular run-out. Sachin was a bit disappointed with the bowler standing in his way."
D. Hussey was also involved in a contentious call when he put his hand out to stop a throw from Suresh Raina as the batsman was trying to complete a run. At the time, in the 24th over, Indians appealed for obstructing the field, but third umpire Simon Fry of Australia, ruled him not out.
Dhoni felt D Hussey should have been given out and Tendulkar not out.
He said: "To me, it was plain and simple. That was out. If you are protecting yourself it's fine but not in this way. I was also a part of one such dismissal in Pakistan when Inzamam-ul Haq was defending something that was right on his face and yet he was given out. In this case, I think David was really lucky, he should have been given out. Don't know why it wasn't given."
"As I said, you look at it, it seems out. I don't know why it was given not out. But what also can be done is to have hard lines as to this is what it is. What happens is, you have different umpires in different games, and like the umpire said, if it was an Indian batsman he would have given not out, but it's not there at that point of time. Things like this happen once in a while."
Former Australian captain Ian Chappell and Mark Taylor also felt that D. Hussey should have been given out but India's Ravi Shastri and Sanjay Manjrekar felt otherwise.