Four domestic players join KKR for IPL 5 season

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, March 1, 2012, 17:17 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

KKR sign four domestic players

Kolkata, Mar 1: Kolkata Knight Riders on Thursday signed four domestic players for the upcoming IPL 5 season starting from April 4.

Two from Bengal, Debabrata Das and Iresh Saxena, Saurastra's Chirag Jani and Kerala's Sanju Samson have been signed by Kolkata Knight Riders for the upcoming season, a KKR release stated.

The 25-year-old Das, who represented KKR in 2008 season is an aggressive middle-order batsman and a part time wicket-keeper.

Left-arm spinner Saxena (27), represented Bengal in all three forms of the game this season and also played a pivotal role in Bengal's triumph in domestic T20 tournament for the Syed Mustaq Ali Trophy last season.

Jani, the 22-year-old all-rounder had a successful season for his state this year with an average of 119 with a strike rate of over 100.

Samoson, 17-year-old youngster has been a part of KKR's development plans for more than three years and promises to be a good wicket-keeper and middle-order batsman.

"Das and Saxena grow our commitment and investment in our catchment area of Bengal, and we are really happy that they will get a chance to secure their places in our team.

Jani and Samson represent our investments towards the future, and we know that they have the talent and dedication to significantly contribute to our team one day," KKR CEO Venky Mysore said.


Write Comments