Preview: Opener Warner doubtful for second final

Posted by:
Published: Monday, March 5, 2012, 13:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Preview: Australia look to seal title

Adelaide, Mar 5: Australia will look to seal the tri-series title by winning the second final against Sri Lanka at the Adelaide Oval on Tuesday.

Michael Clarke and his men survived a huge scare by Nuwan Kulasekara on Sunday before notching a 15-run victory in the first of the best-of-three finals.

Australia are battling with an injury worry to opener David Warner, who scored 163 in Brisbane. Warner has a groin injury which he suffered during that magnificent innings and that might keep him out of the Adealide game.

Peter Forrest, who had to sit out of the last game, is likely to take Warner's place in case the opener does not recover in time.

One big worry for Clarke is about his bowling. His three main fast bowlers went for plenty in Brisbane. James Pattinson and Ben Hilfenhaus were wicketless but Brett Lee toook three wickets at an expensive rate.

Australia might look to bring back Clint McKay in place of Hilfenhaus or Pattinson.

Left-arm spinner Xavier Doherty has been exceptional throughout the series. He has bowled a tidy line to tie down the opposition's batsmen.

Sri Lanka too have injury worries. All-rounder Thisara Perera has already gone home while Chamara Kapugedara has already joined the squad from Sri Lanka.

The Islanders are stilling waiting on Angleo Mathews' fitness.

He was missed in Brisbane. The all-rounder could have played a big part in that mammoth chase.

Lasith Malinga too was not on target in Brisbane. He needs to bounce back for Sri Lanka if they hope to take the finals into the decider on Friday.

If Australia win the finals 2-0, the third game will not be played on Friday.


Australia: Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), David Warner, Peter Forrest, Daniel Christian, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Matthew Wade, Ben Hilfenhaus, Xavier Doherty, Clint McKay, Brett Lee, James Pattinson.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Farveez Maharoof, Chamara Kapugedara, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Chanaka Welegedera, Dhammika Prasad.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and Bruce Oxenford (Australia)

Third Umpire: Paul Reiffel (Australia)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (England)

Match starts at 8.50 AM IST

For live ball by ball commentary, live updates and reports, visit www.thatscricket.com


Write Comments