Botha named captain for one-off T20 against India

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, March 24, 2012, 15:19 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Botha to lead SA in T20 against India

Johannesburg, Mar 24: South Africa's allrounder Johan Botha has been appointed as captain of the national side for the one-off Twenty20 international against India, while captain AB deVilliers and his deputy Hashim Amla have been rested for the match scheduled on Friday.

Cricket South Africa has named new comers Farhaan Behardien and Dane Vilas in the 13 member squad. Interestingly both the youngsters are awaiting to make their debut and also utilize the opportunity to cement their places in the side.

Meanwhile, senior player Jacques Kalllis who had been rested for the Wellington Test against New Zealand due to a stiff neck has been included in the T20 squad for the match against India on Mar 30, 2012.

"We are leaving all the players out who are involved in the current Test match against New Zealand with the exception of Jacques Kallis for whom there are special circumstances," Andrew Hudson, the convener of selectors, said.

"They will arrive back home two days before the start of the match, having travelled halfway across the world, including a 10-hour time difference, and we don't believe they will be in any condition to play an international game of cricket.

"We have chosen a squad of 13 as there is some doubt about the fitness of Kallis who has been ruled out of the current Test match. The team management needs to have plenty of options available; such is Kallis' all-round value to the side."

The selectors have included Lonwabo Tsotsobe, who was a part of the Test squad in New Zealand , apart from Kallis as others have been given rest as they will be reaching their hometown only two days before the start of the T20 match.


Johan Botha (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Colin Ingram, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk, Dane Vilas.


Write Comments