IPL 5: RCB start preparatory camp on Tuesday

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, March 27, 2012, 11:11 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL 5: RCB's camp starts on Tuesday

Bangalore, Mar 27: Royal Challengers Bangalore will kick off their preparations for the fifth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Tuesday with a short camp at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

RCB coach Ray Jennings of South Africa, Sri Lankan spin legend Muttiah Muralitharan, along with the local and Indian players in the squad will assemble at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on Tuesday evening. Australian all-rounder Andrew McDonald, who was bought from Delhi Daredevils, is also expected to join on the first day.

RCB start their campaign with a match against Delhi Daredevils on April 7 at Chinnaswamy Stadium. West Indian opener Chris Gayle will arrive in Bangalore on Wednesday.

Muralitharan was bought during the auction in Banglaore in February. He was with Kochi Tuskers Kerala last  year. Now, Kochi team is defunct.

Indian vice-captain Virat Kohli will join the squad later. Kohli is set to fly to South Africa to play in the Twenty20 International against South Africa on March 30. Paceman R. Vinay Kumar, who was bought in the auction in February, has returned to his home side. He will be in the camp on the first day.

The Vijay Mallya-owned RCB finished runners-up during the last edition of IPL. This year's tournament gets under way in Chennai on April 4.

RCB's captain Daniel Vettori will arrive in Bangalore on April 1 as he was playing in the New Zealand-South Africa Test series, which concluded today.

Wicktkeeper-batsman AB de Villiers will also fly into Bangalore after the Test series.

The squad: Daniel Vettori (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Saurabh Tiwary, Arun Karthik, Andrew McDonald, Mohammad Kaif, CM Gautam, Cheteshwar Pujara, Zaheer Khan, Charl Langeveldt, Luke Pomersbach (wk), Rilee Rossouw, KP Appanna, Sreenath Aravind, Rajoo Bhatkal, Abrar Kazi, R Vinay Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Muttiah Muralitharan, Karun Nair, Dirk Nannes, Ryan Ninan, Harshal Patel, Asad Pathan, Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad, Vijay Zol.


Write Comments