Preview: Chennai take on Deccan on Saturday

Posted by:
Published: Friday, April 6, 2012, 16:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai meet Deccan on Saturday

Visakhapatnam, Apr 6: Two-time champions Chennai Super Kings will look to put the first game defeat behind and get back to winning ways on Saturday as they face former title winners Deccan Chargers here in Game Six of IPL 5.

Despite the loss in the opener to Mumbai Indians, CSK will start as favourites against DC. The Hyderabad-based team have not done well after winning the title in 2009. Their regular captain Kumar Sangakkara is missing while Cameron White will lead in his absence.

CSK were undone by a two-paced wicket at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on the opening night of IPL 5. They managed only 112 runs. Their batsmen will look forward to bat on a different wicket and a new venue will be a welcome change for them.

Their batting hopes will rest with captain MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, and Dwayne Bravo. Opener Murali Vijay struggled in the opener and he will be hoping to make amends.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja had a disappointing game against Mumbai and he will have to come good on Saturday to justify his price-tag of $ 2 million.

Ravichandran Ashwin, one of the key bowlers for CSK, will have to deliver along with Australian paceman Doug Bollinger.

White, who has been out of favour for national selection in Australia, will be hoping to find form in this tournament which will also help his cause to get a recall to international duty. Another Australian all-rounder Daniel Christian will also have to do well.

The mainstay in DC's bowling is South African paceman Dale Steyn. He can win matches single-handedly with his pace. Steyn's compatriot JP Duminy is also in the team.

Parthiv Patel will take the gloves behind the stumps. Other Indians in the line-up are paceman Manpreet Gony, batsmen Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Bhaarat Chipli and few local talent from Hyderabad.


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain), Srikkanth Anirudha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, George Bailey, Doug Bollinger, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Nuwan Kulasekara, Yo Mahesh, Albie Morkel, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Scott Styris, Sudeep Tyagi, Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh, Murali Vijay.

Deccan Chargers: Cameron White (captain.), Shikhar Dhawan, JP Duminy, Manpreet Gony, Daniel Harris, Parthiv Patel, Dale Steyn, Rusty Theron, Ishank Jaggi, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Chris Lynn, Amit Mishra, Tanmay Mishra, Ashish Reddy, Anand Rajan, Ankit Sharma, Tekkami Atchuta Rao, Akash Bhandari, Bharat Chipli, Daniel Christian, Kedar Devdhar, Veer Pratap Singh, Syed Quadri, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Akshath Reddy, Biplab Samantray, Sneha Kishore, Sunny Sohal, Tanmay Srivastava, TP Sudhindra, Arjun Yadav.


Write Comments