Preview: Confident Pune face Punjab on Sunday

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, April 7, 2012, 11:44 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Confident Pune meet Punjab on Sunday

Pune, Apr 7: It's Game Eight of IPL 5 on April 8 at 8 PM IST. The Sunday clash pits Pune Warriors against Kings XI Punjab at a brand new Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium here. Pune, who stunned Mumbai Indians on Friday will hope to continue that winning momentum and gift their fans a victory in the first game at home.

Sourav Ganguly captained Pune will be in a confident frame of mind after upsetting the mighty Mumbai. In a low-scoring game, Pune's spinners managed to successfully defend 129 at the Wankhede Stadium.

Also on Friday, Punjab were comprehensively beaten by Rajasthan Royals in Jaipur. They went down by 31 runs after conceding 191 to the Royals.

Ashok Dinda, who shone with the ball with four wickets against Mumbai, will be keen to take his form forward. Also, spinners Murali Kartik and Rahul Sharma was impressive on Friday. Both teams will be cautious about what the new pitch will offer.

Pune's batsmen will have to lift themselves to post a bigger score. Ganguly, Robin Uthappa, Callum Ferguson and Manish Pandey have to get runs on Sunday.

Barring Uthappa and all-rounder Steve Smith, the rest of the batting failed against Mumbai. It was Smith's contribution of 39 runs which proved vital in Pune's triumph.

For Punjab, they need to put the loss behind and start fresh. Skipper Adam Gilchrist has his hands full as he is also the coach of the team. Captain, coach and wicketkeeping roles might take toll on the Australian, who does not play cricket regularly. He did admit that he was on the field for the first time after one year since IPL 2011.


Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Imtiyaz Ahmed, Eklavya Dwivedi, Callum Ferguson, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Kamran Khan, Murali Kartik, Harshad Khadiwale, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nathan McCullum, Mithun Manhas, Mohnish Mishra, Shrikant Mundhe, Ashish Nehra, Tim Paine (wk), Manish Pandey, Wayne Parnell, Sachin Rana, Jesse Ryder, Rahul Sharma, Jerome Taylor, Steve Smith, Alfonso Thomas, Robin Uthappa, Shrikant Wagh.

Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (captain), Rajagopal Sathish, Love Ablish, Amit Yadav, Bhargav Bhatt, Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Siddharth Chitnis, Paras Dogra, Ryan Harris, David Hussey, Praveen Kumar, Vikramjeet Malik, Mandeep Singh, Shaun Marsh, Abhishek Nayar, Nathan Rimmington, Nitin Saini, Shalabh Srivastava, Sunny Singh, Paul Valthaty, Stuart Broad, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Ramesh Powar, Harmeet Singh, Parvinder Awana, Azhar Mahmood, Vipul Sharma, James Faulkner, David Miller.

Match starts at 8 PM IST


Write Comments