Pune Warriors win two in two

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, April 8, 2012, 18:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pune Warriors win two in two

Pune, Apr 8: Pune Warriors defeated Kings XI Punjab by 22 runs in Game Eight of IPL 5 here at the brand new Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium on Sunday. A fine start for the Sahara group-owned team at their new home ground.

[Scorecard: Game Eight, Pune Warriors Vs Kings XI Punjab]

Sourav Ganguly-captained Pune Warriors registered their second victory in as many matches. They had beaten Mumbai Indians by 28 runs on Friday.

Kings XI Punjab closed their innings with 144/8 in 20 overs, chasing 167 for victory. Adam Gilchrist-led side have now slumped to their second defeat in two games. Earlier, they had lost to Rajasthan Royals by 31 runs. Things are not looking good for them.

Paceman Ashok Dinda was again the pick of the Pune bowlers. He was economical in his three-over spell, conceding just 13 runs and also accounted for one batsman, James Faulkner. He had taken four wickets against Mumbai.

Legspinner Rahul Sharma took two wickets in four overs but was expensive, giving away 34 runs. Jesse Ryder, Marlon Samuels and Ashish Nehra took one wicket apiece. Pune fielders effected two run outs.

Punjab started off on a disastrous note when Paul Valthaty had to sacrifice his wicket after a mix-up with his captain Gilchrist going for a non-existent single. It was Gilchrist's fault and Valthaty had to pay for it.

After that early blow, Gilchrist too perished, also a run out. Both openers were dismissed for single-digit scores. In the middle-order, Mandeep Singh and Abhishek Nayar made 24 each, the highest in Punjab team. Big hitters David Hussey and Dimitri Mascarenhas could not last long. Piyush Chawla swung his bat for few runs but the target was far away and the required run rate was mounting all the time.

They needed 36 runs to win off the final six balls bowled by Samuels. Punjab ended up with 13 runs. It was a good all-round performance by the West Indian Samuels after he had top scored with 46 with the bat. He won the Man-of-the-match award.

Pune Warriors Innings Report

West Indian batsman Marlon Samuels top scored with 46 while there was useful contribution from Robin Uthappa who made 40. In the final overs, it was Australian Steve Smith who hit a 12-ball 25 with three sixes.

Samuels and Uthappa had a partnership of 81 for the third wicket in 10.1 overs. That laid the foundation for Pune's score to go past 150. Later Smith and Manish Pandey associated for a breezy 34 runs in 1.2 overs for the sixth wicket.

Samuels and Uthappa both hit two sixes apiece and were bowled by Harmeet Singh. If they had stayed for few more overs, Pune could have reached close to 190. Skipper Sourav Ganguly made 20.

Harmeet was the most successful bowler with 3/24 in 3.2 overs. However, he was barred from completing his quota of four overs after bowling two successive beamers.

Earlier, Pune Warriors captain Ganguly won the toss and chose to bat first against Kings XI Punjab.

Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium is hosting its first ever IPL match. It will be Pune's home ground from now.

Pune made two changes, giving a game to New Zealander Jesse Ryder and Indian left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra. Wayne Parnell and Bhuvneshwar Kumar missed out.

Kings XI Punjab dropped Australian left-hander Shaun Marsh and brought in England all-rounder Dimitri Mascarenhas.

Pune upset the mighty Mumbai Indians in their first game on Friday. In a low-scoring game, Pune's spinners managed to successfully defend 129 at the Wankhede Stadium.

Also on Friday, Punjab were comprehensively beaten by Rajasthan Royals in Jaipur. They went down by 31 runs after conceding 191 to the Royals.


Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Murali Kartik, Marlon Samuels, Ashish Nehra, Manish Pandey, Callum Ferguson, Jesse Ryder, Rahul Sharma, Steve Smith, Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), Ashok Dinda.

Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (captain and wicketkeeper), Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, David Hussey, Praveen Kumar, Mandeep Singh, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Abhishek Nayar, Paul Valthaty, Harmeet Singh, James Faulkner.

Umpires: Subroto Das (India) and Simon Taufel (Australia)

Third Umpire: Sudhri Asnani (India)

Match Referee: Rajendra Jadeja (India)


Write Comments