हिन्दीಕನ್ನಡമലയാളംதமிழ்తెలుగు

Controversy over Kumar Sangakkara's dismissal

Posted by:
Published: Monday, April 9, 2012, 21:33 [IST]
 
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Controversy over Sangakkara's dismissal

Visakhapatnam, Apr 9: There was controversy during the IPL 5’s Game 9 between Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians as Deccan captain Kumar Sangakkara was declared not out when he was bowled by Munaf Patel at the ACA-VDCA Stadium here on Monday night.

There was controversy surrounding Sangakkara’s dismissal as he was initially given not out when he was clearly bowled. This happened on the third ball of the 13th over. Sangakkara was on 14.

Square-leg umpire Johan Cloete of South Africa thought that the ball had ricocheted of wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik’s pads and then disturbed the stumps. In spite of Mumbai players’ insisting for Cloete to checking with the third umpire, the South African felt he had made the right call.

After watching the replays, Mumbai players knew it was clearly umpire’s mistake to rule Deccan captain not out. Skipper Harbhajan Singh and Munaf were both agitated and argued with the umpires and forced Cloete to refer the decision to third umpire Kumar Dharmasena of Sri Lanka. The replays confirmed and in the end the right decision was made.

First the ball hit took Sangakkara’s bat edge and brushed the off stump and went on to hit Karthik’s pads and rebounded again to break the stumps.

Harbhajan got the message from the dugout that the Sri Lanka was bowled. And he did not give up and he was proved right.

Munaf was furious with the other umpire Anil Chaudhary and he showed his anger by throwing the ball to the ground and argued with Chaudhary. Harbhajan and Munaf were right in expressing their anger against the umpires but they might be reprimanded or fined by the match referee Graeme Labrooy of Sri Lanka.

ThatsCricket

Write Comments