Pune and Punjab face off again on Thursday

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, April 11, 2012, 17:51 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pune meet Punjab again

Mohali, April 11: They played each other on Sunday and they are back to battle it out again. Pune Warriors and Kings XI Punjab will meet again, this time on Punjab's home turf here in Mohali in Game 14 of IPL 5 on Thursday night.

IPL 5: Schedule, Results, Points Table

IPL Photo Gallery

Pune won their home game against Punjab on Sunday night at their new home ground Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium. It was Game 8 and Pune were successful by 22 runs.

Sourav Ganguly has been impressive as Pune captain. He has led the team to two successive victories. First, they conquered Mumbai Indians in a low-scoring game and then Punjab. They are in a confident frame of mind and it could be a hat-trick.

Punjab, on the other hand, have been dealt with two losses on the trot. They might be happy to play on their home turf. Both defeats (Pune and Rajasthan Royals) came away from home.

Punjab's captain and coach Adam Gilchrist will have to lead from the front. As an opener, the team will look forward to a smashing start at the top of the order. Another Australian David Hussey has been quiet in two matches. He needs to score big.

Praveen Kumar will enjoy bowling at the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) Stadium as might get swing in the night. He will be hoping to swing the contest towards his team as well.

For Pune, bowlers Ashok Dinda and Murali Kartik are the key. Their batting will rely on Robin Uthappa, Marlon Samuels, Ganguly and Steve Smith. Jesse Ryder failed in previous game and he might partner the captain again at the top.


Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Imtiyaz Ahmed, Eklavya Dwivedi, Callum Ferguson, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Kamran Khan, Murali Kartik, Harshad Khadiwale, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nathan McCullum, Mithun Manhas, Mohnish Mishra, Shrikant Mundhe, Ashish Nehra, Tim Paine, Manish Pandey, Wayne Parnell, Sachin Rana, Jesse Ryder, Rahul Sharma, Jerome Taylor, Steve Smith, Alfonso Thomas, Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), Shrikant Wagh.

Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (captain and wicketkeeper), Rajagopal Sathish, Love Ablish, Amit Yadav, Bhargav Bhatt, Bipul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Siddharth Chitnis, Paras Dogra, Ryan Harris, David Hussey, Praveen Kumar, Vikramjeet Malik, Mandeep Singh, Shaun Marsh, Abhishek Nayar, Nathan Rimmington, Nitin Saini, Shalabh Srivastava, Sunny Singh, Paul Valthaty, Stuart Broad, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Ramesh Powar, Harmeet Singh, Parvinder Awana, Azhar Mahmood, Vipul Sharma, James Faulkner, David Miller.


Write Comments