Confident Chennai face Pune on Saturday night

Posted by:
Published: Friday, April 13, 2012, 15:06 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai face Pune on Saturday night

Pune, Apr 13: Chennai Super Kings will be on a high following that sensational Albie Morkel-scripted victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore on Thursday night. Now, the MS Dhoni-led defending champions will face Pune Warriors in Game 16 of IPL 5 here on Saturday night.

While Chennai arrive at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium with lot of confidence, Pune are entering on the back of a loss to Kings XI Punjab in Mohali.

Chennai look the better side. They will go in as favourites. However, Pune will be well supported at their home ground and this could be an inspiration. With Sourav Ganguly at the helm, he can turn it around for them.

Ganguly, the captain has been impressive. But he is yet to show his true form with the bat at the top of the order. He and Jesse Ryder need to give the team a good start. That will make the job easier for the rest of the batsmen like Manish Pandey, Robin Uthappa, Marlon Samuels and Steve Smith. Pune are yet to post a big total.

They were bundled out for just 115 at the PCA Stadium. Dmitri Mascarenhas took five wickets to star for Punjab.

Chennai's batting looks in fine form. It will be big test for Pune bowlers to contain the big bats. Opener Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo, Dhoni and Morkel will be raring to go again.


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain), Murali Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, Srikkanth Anirudha, George Bailey, Michael Hussey, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Subramaniam Badrinath, Dwayne Bravo, Yo Mahesh, Albie Morkel, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ravichandran Ashwin, Doug Bollinger, Faf du Plessis, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sudeep Tyagi, K Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh.

Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Imtiyaz Ahmed, Eklavya Dwivedi, Callum Ferguson, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Kamran Khan, Murali Kartik, Harshad Khadiwale, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nathan McCullum, Mithun Manhas, Mohnish Mishra, Shrikant Mundhe, Ashish Nehra, Tim Paine (wk), Manish Pandey, Wayne Parnell, Sachin Rana, Jesse Ryder, Rahul Sharma, Jerome Taylor, Steve Smith, Alfonso Thomas, Robin Uthappa, Shrikant Wagh.

Match starts at 8 PM IST


Write Comments