Delhi Daredevils crush Mumbai Indians

Posted by:
Published: Monday, April 16, 2012, 18:43 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Delhi Daredevils crush Mumbai Indians

Mumbai, Apr 16: Delhi Daredevils eased to a seven-wicket win over Mumbai Indians in Game 19 of IPL 5 here at the Wankhede Stadium on Monday night.

[Scorecard: IPL 5: Game 19: Mumbai Indians Vs Delhi Daredevils]

IPL 5: Results, Points Table

This result was a foregone conclusion once Mumbai collapsed to 92 all out in 19.2 overs. The visitors reached this easy target with the loss of three wickets, Naman Ojha, Virender Sehwag and Kevin Pietersen, in 14.5 overs. Delhi's left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem was the Man-of-the-match for his two-wicket haul.

"There was life in the wicket but we played poor shots. 140 or 150 would have been good," said Mumbai captain Harbhajan Singh.

With their third win in four games, Delhi sit on top of the table while Mumbai are fourth. Both teams are with six points each but Delhi's net run rate shot up drastically with this dominant victory today.

Harbhajan, interestingly, stayed away from bowling. RP Singh took two wickets while Pragyan Ojha got one wicket.

The Wankhede Stadium pitch had something for the bowlers but it was not a wicket where a side would be wiped out for 92. Batsmen needed to apply themselves and build an innings. A total close to 120 or 130 would have been ideal for Mumbai bowlers to have a chance of defending.

A dominant show by Delhi today has put them to be counted as one of the favourites for the tournament. The return of injured Ross Taylor has bolstered their batting.

Mumbai Indians Innings Report

It was a dismal batting performance by Mumbai Indians. They collapsed to the lowest total in IPL 5 so far. Boasting one of the best batting line-ups, they were bundled out for a disappointing 92 by Delhi Daredevils.

The Game 19 of IPL 5 was expected to be a thrilling contest with both sides packed with some serious hitters. But at the halfway stage, it has turned out to be a lopsided affair. Without Lasith Malinga (ruled out due to a back problem), Mumbai"s chances of defending this small total in front of their home supporters at the Wankhede Stadium, appear very slim.

Captain Harbhajan Singh saved further ignominy by smashing a 22-ball 33, which was the team"s highest.

All Delhi bowlers were impressive. But Umesh Yadav was the best with an economy rate of 2.50 in four overs with two wickets. He ended with 2/10. What an effort it was from the paceman, who consistently hit the 140kmph mark.

Left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem, pacemen Morne Morkel and Ajit Agarkar also took two wickets apiece. Irfan Pathan had one.

Captain Virender Sehwag"s decision to invite Mumbai for batting proved perfect.

Mumbai"s batting collapse began in the second over when South African Davy Jacobs departed for a 10-ball duck to Nadeem. Soon, Jacobs" compatriot Richard Levi went for 1. From then on, the parade to the pavilion continued.

Rohit Sharma made 29, while Kieron Pollard was out for just 1. Ambati Rayudu scored 4 and Dinesh Karthik 3.

They were 44/6 in 10.2 overs. But some life was injected into the batting, thanks to a counter-attacking cameo by Harbhajan. He and Clint Mckay raised a partnership of 34 before the latter succumbed trying for a big hit.

Once Morkel got rid of Harbhajan in the 18th over, Mumbai"s chances of crossing the 100-mark vanished. Finally, the pathetic batting display ended with just 92 in 19.2 overs.

Toss Report

Delhi Daredevils will field first after captain Virender Sehwag won the toss and asked Mumbai Indians to bat.

Mumbai are still without Sachin Tendulkar, who is not fully fit, according to captain Harbhajan Singh. Surprisingly, there is also Lasith Malinga's name missing. James Franklin is also omitted from today's match. Australian paceman Clint McKay replaces Malinga while Davy Jacobs of South Africa takes Franklin's place. RP Singh is also playing for Mumbai.

For Delhi, New Zealander Ross Taylor comes into the playing XI. Roelof van der Merwe makes way for Taylor. Delhi have dropped Venugopala Rao and brought in Ajit Agarkar.

Playing XIs:

Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard, Davy Jacobs, Richard Levi, Dinesh Karthik (Wicketkeeper), Pragyan Ojha, Munaf Patel, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Rudra Pratap Singh.

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), Mahela Jaywaredene (vice-captain), Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Yogesh Nagar, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ajit Agarkar, Irfan Pathan.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (New Zealand) and Shahvir Tarapore (India)

Third Umpire: Vineet Kulkarni (India)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments