Can Chargers register a win against Sehwag's XI?

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, April 18, 2012, 15:56 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chargers take on confident Daredevils

New Delhi, Apr 18: Deccan Chargers, after their heart-breaking loss to Rajasthan on Tuesday, will be facing the tough Daredevils in Game 23, to be played at the Feroze Shah Kotla on Thursday.

Title favourites clash against the table's bottom placed Deccan Chargers, who seem lost after two heart-breaking losses against Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals.

Delhi Daredevils seem to be confident after their win against Mumbai Indians, as they restricted them to 92, which speaks about the team's bowling performance.

Shahbaz Nadeem said Sehwag encouraging words resulted in his match-winning performance, as he picked up two wickets and conceded only 16 runs off 4 overs.

Delhi Daredevils have a fantastic batting line-up, with Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Virender Sehwag, Naman Ojha and Irfan Pathan. There is a lot of depth in the team's batting when compared to Deccan Chargers, as they depend a lot on skipper Sangakkara, Shikhar Dhawan, JP Duminy, Daniel Christian.

Delhi Daredevils seem to be a balanced side, as the team has many match-winners in batsmen as well as bowlers. Bowlers like Morne Morkel, Irfan Pathan Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem add strength to the bowling attack.

While Deccan Chargers depend on Dale Steyn and Amit Mishra. Lack of consistency is causing more problems for the Chargers, as htey need some energy to keep themselves charged, ahead of their fourth clash in the tournament.

While the team's poor fielding has also raised a few eyebrows, as team's coach compared it with an U-14 team on the ground, since they dropped catches and a few errors on the field which could have been avoided.

With 3 wins, Sehwag-led Daredevils are comfortably placed at the second place, given the form, Daredevils start favourites but cannot write Deccan Chargers off, as they have a good batting line-up. If they can concentrate on their bowling and fielding then they could pose a challenge to the Daredevils.


Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain), Cameron White, Shikhar Dhawan, JP Duminy, Manpreet Gony, Daniel Harris, Parthiv Patel, Dale Steyn, Rusty Theron, Ishank Jaggi, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Chris Lynn, Amit Mishra, Tanmay Mishra, Ashish Reddy, Anand Rajan, Ankit Sharma, Tekkami Atchuta Rao, Akash Bhandari, Bharat Chipli, Daniel Christian, Kedar Devdhar, Veer Pratap Singh, Syed Quadri, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Akshath Reddy, Biplab Samantray, Sneha Kishore, Sunny Sohal, Tanmay Srivastava, TP Sudhindra, Arjun Yadav.

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), Mahela Jaywaredene (vice-captain), Naman Ojha (wicket-keeper), Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Y Venugopal Rao, Yogesh Nagar, Irfan Pathan, Roelof van der Merwe, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Andre Russell, Aaron Finch, Doug Bracewell, Ajit Agarkar, Varun Aaron, Aavishkar Salvi, Robin Bist, Sunny Gupta, Pawan Negi, Punit Bisht (wicket-keeper).


Write Comments