Du Plessis and Badrinath star in Chennai's win

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, April 19, 2012, 19:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai down Pune at home

Chennai, Apr 19: Chennai Super Kings defeated Pune Warriors by 13 runs in Game 24 of IPL 5 here at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Thursday night.

[Scorecard: IPL 5: Game 24: Chennai Super Kings Vs Pune Warriors]

IPL 5: Results, Points Table

Chasing 165 to win, Pune Warriors fell short by 14 runs, ending the match with 151/7 in 20 overs. They needed 25 runs off the final 12 balls and it came down to 21 in 6 balls bowled by Dwayne Bravo. Chennai avenged their loss to Pune on April 14 at the latter home ground, Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium.

With this win, Chennai moved to fifth in the points table with six points from six games. Pune are one place ahead of the defending champions with the same number of points but with a better net run rate. Both teams have played six games each.

Pune's batsmen never got going in the chase. There were four batsmen who got out in their twenties. One of these four had to go on and make a big one if the Sourav Ganguly-led outfit had to win.

Ganguly, Steve Smith, Marlon Samuels and Angelo Mathews all were dismissed in their 20s. Top scorer was Mathews with 27. Pune had only two sixes in their innings.

Nuwan Kulasekara was excellent with the ball, taking 2/10 in two overs. Bravo also took two in four overs, giving away 28 runs. Shadab Jakati, Doug Bollinger and Ravichandran Ashwin took one wicket apiece. Kulasekara was the choice for the Man-of-the-match award.

It was not a fruitful trip to South India for Pune as they first lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore on Tuesday and today they could not put it past Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings Innings Report

Half centuries from Faf du Plessis and S Badrinath took Chennai Super Kings to 164/5 in 20 overs. Chennai scored 37 in the last 3 overs of the innings.

The South African, Du Plessis, continued his fine run with the bat and this time with a new opening partner, put on a century partnership for the first wicket.

Out of form Murali Vijay was benched and Badrinath was elevated to the opening slot.

Both the right-handed openers faced identical balls of 48 but Du Plessis scored one run more than his partner. Du Plessis (58, 4x4, 2x6) and Badrinath (57, 8x4) set a perfect platform.

It was not a brisk start but a calculated one for Chennai. With a slow wicket not conducive for big shots, Du Plessis and Badrinath took 47 balls for the first 50. However, they made up for the next block of fifty as the 100 was raised in 85 balls.

Both Du Plessis and Badrinath departed with the team score on 116 in the 16th over. Suresh Raina soon followed without scoring.

As it has been, conditions in Chennai were hot. Du Plessis had to battle it hard in the heat. He has now scored 229 runs in six matches so far in the tournament.

With skipper MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja in the middle in the final over bowled by Marlon Samuels, Chennai scored 18, the best in an over in the innings. Dhoni hit a 104-metre six in that last over and the ball went out of the stadium. He ended with a 12-ball 28 not out.

Samules took 3/39 off 4 overs while Ashish Nehra had figures of 2/23 in 4 overs.

Toss Report

Pune Warriors captain Sourav Ganguly won the toss and invited Chennai Super Kings to bat first.

Pune Warriors made two changes. Ashok Dinda and Mithun Manhas are out. Murali Kartik and Manish Pandey come back. Dinda was suffering from a side strain during the last game and has not recovered fully. Chennai have gone in with three changes, Doug Bollinger, Shadab Jakati and Wriddhiman Saha are playing.

Albie Morkel had to return to South Africa to attend his close friend Louis Vorster's funeral who was shot dead in Gauteng on Tuesday. Out of form Murali Vijay has been dropped. Yo Mahesh also misses out.

This is the second game between the two sides this season. The first clash was won by Pune at their home ground, Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium.

Playing XIs

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Doug Bollinger, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha.

Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Murali Kartik, Steve Smith, Angelo Mathews, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rahul Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Robin Uthappa, Jesse Ryder, Marlon Samuels.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and Subrat Das (India)

Third Umpire: Sudhir Asnani (India)

Match Referee: Graeme Labrooy (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments