It's Dhoni vs Dravid in Chennai on Saturday

Posted by:
Published: Friday, April 20, 2012, 16:05 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai take on Rajasthan on Saturday

Chennai, Apr 20: After two back-to-back home wins, Chennai Super Kings will once again bank on home advantage as they take on second placed Rajasthan Royals in game 26 of IPL 5 season at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings on Thursday, registered their third win this season by beating Pune Warriors by 13 runs in front of home fans. South Africa's Faf Du Plessis and S Badrinath's opening partnership of 116 along with Nuwan Kulasekara's brilliant figures of 10 for two in four overs steered Dhoni and Co to victory.

While Rajasthan Royals have won four in six games, they have lost two in three away games. Chasing a mammoth total of 196 in their previous game, Royals' Brad Hodge clinched the victory with an impressive 21-ball 48 innings.

Players to watch out for in Rajasthan are definitely opener Ajinkya Rahane and top order batsman Owais Shah. Rahane's 60-ball 103 against Royal challengers Bangalore was a classic. In a total of six games Rahane has scored 304 runs at an average 60.80, while Shah has certainly made an impression with 216 runs in six games at an average of 54.

Lack of big names has done a world of good as young lads have fared well under the leadership of veteran Rahul Dravid.

Chennai opener Faf du Plessis has surely made his name in IPL 5, while Chennai's Suresh Raina and opener Murali Vijay have so far been inconsistent, while all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been performing in bits with both bat and bowl.

Chennai sit two places below Rajasthan Royals at fifth place in the points table. The defending champions have so far played nine matches against the Royals winning five since the start of IPL. But looking at the current form, Rajasthan certainly seem favourites to overcome Chennai.


Chennai Super Kings: Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Srikkanth Anirudha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, George Bailey, Doug Bollinger, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Ben Hilfenhaus, Michael Hussey, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Yo Mahesh, Albie Morkel, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Scott Styris, Sudeep Tyagi, Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh, Murali Vijay.

Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Shreevats Goswami (wicketkeeper), Owais Shah, Ashok Menaria, Johan Botha, Kevon Cooper, Ankeet Chavan, Brad Hogg, Amit Singh, Siddharth Trivedi, Aakash Chopra, Abhishek Raut, Aditya Dole, Ajit Chandalia, Amit Paunikar, Amit Singh, Deepak Chahar, Dishant Yagnik, Faiz Fazal, Gajendra Singh, Pankaj Singh, Sreesanth, Samad Fallah, Stuart Binny, Sumit Narwal, Brad Hodge, Dinesh Chandimal and Paul Collingwood.


Write Comments