Dominant Delhi aim to extend winning run

Posted by:
Published: Friday, April 20, 2012, 16:02 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dominant Delhi aim to keep winning

New Delhi, Apr 20: Delhi Daredevils are in red-hot form and the next in line to face them is Pune Warriors on Saturday night at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

It is Game 27 in IPL 5 and Delhi would like to extend their domination over the rest of the teams with another victory.

After starting off on a winning note against Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi suffered a loss to Royal Challengers Bangalore. But since that they have scored a hat-trick of wins.

The team, under Virender Sehwag, have eased past Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians and Deccan Chargers. They are in great form with both batting and bowling clicking in all victorious matches.

Kevin Pietersen was in top form while notching up his maiden century in Twenty20 cricket against Deccan on Thursday. His 103 not out set up a five-wicket victory.

Pietersen, Sehwag, Ross Taylor and Mahela Jayawardene form the backbone of Delhi's batting. In bowling, it is the pace duo of Morne Morkel and Umesh Yadav and well supported by the left-arm spin of Shahbaz Nadeem.

Pune, with three defeats in six outings, will have an uphill task to halt Delhi's winning run.

Captain Sourav Ganguly needs to get some runs. He has 85 runs is six visits to the crease. Their batting has heavily relied on Steve Smith. Once he departed against Chennai Super Kings on Thursday, their hopes of chasing 165 vanished.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), David Warner, Mahela Jayawardene, Ross Taylor, Kevin Pietersen, K. Venugopala Rao, Aaron Finch, Unmukt Chand, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Roelof van der Merwe, Naman Ojha, Ajit Agarkar, Andre Russell, Yogesh Nagar, Doug Bracewell, Umesh Yadav, Punit Bisht, Robin Bist, Avishkar Salvi, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sunny Gupta, Varun Aaron, Prashant Naik, Vikas Mishra, Zafir Patel, Kuldeep Raval, Manpreet Juneja, Glenn Maxwell, Gulam Bodi, Pawan Negi and Tejaswi Yadav.

Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Imtiyaz Ahmed, Eklavya Dwivedi, Callum Ferguson, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Kamran Khan, Murali Kartik, Harshad Khadiwale, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nathan McCullum, Mithun Manhas, Mohnish Mishra, Shrikant Mundhe, Ashish Nehra, Tim Paine (wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, Wayne Parnell, Sachin Rana, Jesse Ryder, Rahul Sharma, Jerome Taylor, Steve Smith, Alfonso Thomas, Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), Shrikant Wagh, Ashok Dinda, Angelo Mathews.


Read more about: ipl 5, delhi daredevils, pune warriors
Write Comments