Mumbai, sans Malinga, to face Punjab on Sunday

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, April 21, 2012, 15:45 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, sans Malinga, to face Punjab

Mumbai, Apr 21: Mumbai Indians will be without Lasith Malinga for their Sunday's Game 28 against Kings XI Punjab at the Wankhede Stadium.

It is a huge blow for Mumbai as the Sri Lankan bowler has returned home due to back injury. It will be interesting to see how Mumbai perform without their best bowler.

It is still not know as to how many matches will Malinga miss in IPL 5. It is learnt that he might come back after two weeks. Mumbai will be hoping that he returns soon.

Punjab batsmen will heave a sigh of relief that they don't have to face Malinga. The paceman is one of the most successful bowlers in IPL history. Punjab, who are eighth in the points table with just two wins in six games, will hope to run Mumbai close in Malinga's absence.

Mumbai, with three wins from five games, are placed sixth in points table.

Even without Malinga, Mumbai look formidable for Punjab challenge. They are still favourites against the Adam Gilchrist-led side.

Sachin Tendulkar, who has missed four games due to a finger injury, might return for Sunday's game. It will be a big boost for them as their openers have struggled.

Punjab skipper Adam Gilchrist, who missed the last game due to a hamstring injury, might return to lead the side.


Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Aditya Tare, Ambati Rayudu, Dhawal Kulkarni, Dinesh Karthik, Munaf Patel, Pawan Suyal, Pragyan Ojha, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Sushant Marathe, Tirumalasetti Suman, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal, Rudra Pratap Singh, Aiden Blizzard, Clint McKay, Davy Jacobs, James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Herschelle Gibbs, Mitchell Johnson, Robin Peterson, Thisara Perera, Amitoze Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Shukla, Sujit Nayak, Apporv Wankhade, Jaydev Shah, Richard Levi.

Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (captain and wicketkeeper), Paul Valthaty, Shaun Marsh, Mandeep Singh, Piyush Chawla, David Hussey, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Parvinder Awana, Bipul Sharma, Harmeet Singh, Praveen Kumar, Abhishek Nayar, Amit Yadav, Bhargav Bhatt, Bipul Sharma, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Nitin Saini, Paras Dogra, Ramesh Powar, Shalabh Srivastava, Siddharth Chitnis, Sunny Singh, Vikramjeet Singh, David Miller, James Faulkner, Azhar Mahmood, Nathan Rimmington, Ben Cutting, Ryan Harris and Kyle Abbott.

Match starts at 4PM IST

Also playing on Sunday, Deccan Chargers Vs Kolkata Knight Riders at 8PM IST in Cuttack


Write Comments