Can Ganguly weave the magic again on Tuesday?

Posted by:
Published: Monday, April 23, 2012, 14:14 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Warriors take on Daredevils on Tuesday

Pune, Apr 23: After a comprehensive victory over title favourites Delhi Daredevils, Sourav Ganguly-led Pune Warriors will be on a high and look forward to win the next encounter against Virender Sehwag's XI in Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium in Pune on Tuesday.

The game promises to be another cracker of a contest, as both the teams are in great form, as Delhi Daredevils would look to avenge their defeat when they meet Warriors on Tuesday in the return leg of the tournament as Sourav Ganguly's magical spell won the match for Pune.

With Ganguly, Angelo Mathews and Robin Uthappa also showing good signs of regaining touch will definitely add strength to the already strong batting line-up as Steven Smith and Jesse Ryder are able to score very well at the top of the order.

Though the bowling attack was not up to the mark during their previous match, as Daredevils' skipper Sehwag and Pietersen hammered the bowlers until Dada took over, as his magical spell helped the team register a 20 run win over Daredevils on Saturday.

If the Bengal pacer, Ashok Dinda is fit, he would replace Bhuvaneshwar Kumar for the match against Daredevils else, would enjoy another opportunity to make his presence felt after an impressive performance in Bangalore.

Delhi on the other hand, has many match-winners, starting from skipper Sehwag, Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Morne Morkel and others. The team has the ability to bounce back and avenge its defeat, as it would be interesting to see how they play against a team inspired by Ganguly again at their home ground, Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium in Pune.

The two teams have so far played three matches while the winning ratio is 50% as both the teams have registered a win, while another match did not yield any result.

With Ganguly's inspiration, Pune Warriors have improved a lot, though they are aware of the opponents strengths, the team has shown the ability to expose their weaknesses as well.

Interesting contest on cards, as Virender Sehwag's boys meet Ganguly's XI at Pune. A cracker of a contest coming up, a lot of entertainment and impressive performances are sure to grab the attention of the viewers.

Can Ganguly's XI repeat the magic again in front of their home crowd?


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), David Warner, Mahela Jayawardene, Ross Taylor, Kevin Pietersen, K. Venugopala Rao, Aaron Finch, Unmukt Chand, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Roelof van der Merwe, Naman Ojha, Ajit Agarkar, Andre Russell, Yogesh Nagar, Doug Bracewell, Umesh Yadav, Punit Bisht, Robin Bist, Avishkar Salvi, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sunny Gupta, Varun Aaron, Prashant Naik, Vikas Mishra, Zafir Patel, Kuldeep Raval, Manpreet Juneja, Glenn Maxwell, Gulam Bodi, Pawan Negi and Tejaswi Yadav.

Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Imtiyaz Ahmed, Eklavya Dwivedi, Callum Ferguson, Ganesh Gaikwad, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Kamran Khan, Murali Kartik, Harshad Khadiwale, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nathan McCullum, Mithun Manhas, Mohnish Mishra, Shrikant Mundhe, Ashish Nehra, Tim Paine (wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, Wayne Parnell, Sachin Rana, Jesse Ryder, Rahul Sharma, Jerome Taylor, Steve Smith, Alfonso Thomas, Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), Shrikant Wagh, Ashok Dinda, Angelo Mathews.


Write Comments