Preview: Can Eden prove lucky for Chargers?

Posted by:
Published: Monday, April 23, 2012, 15:20 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chargers hope for a maiden win in IPL 5

Kolkata, Apr 23: Deccan Chargers continued their losing streak against Kolkata Knight Riders on Sunday. The bottom placed Chargers will take on the Knight Riders in a return leg tie at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata on April 24.

The Chargers may face a tough task considering home advantage and recent form of the Knight Riders. The Knight Riders have won four out of their last five and look for their third consecutive win. But the Knight Riders might look to fix their batting issues as top-order struggled to chase a low target of 127 against Chargers on Sunday.

Despite their star-studded line up, only skipper Gautam Gambhir has managed to score two fifties in seven games. Yusuf Pathan's 29 runs in seven games may not be worth $2.1 million.

Meanwhile, Deccan Chargers inconsistent batting top-order and miserable fielding performances will give them little confidence against a charged up Knight Riders. Chargers opener Shikhar Dhawan is only batsman to register two fifties in five games.

Other big names like skipper Kumar Sangakkara, Cameron White, JP Duminy and Parthiv Patel are yet to make a significant contribution to the side, with both sides having similar problems, what remains is will Kolkata carry on winning or Chargers slip to their sixth consecutive defeat.

No doubt, statistics show Kolkata are way ahead of Chargers after winning seven games in nine matches since the inception of IPL in 2008. But with a bit of luck and team effort, the Chargers can upset Kolkata to clinch their first win in IPL 5.


Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain), Cameron White, Shikhar Dhawan, JP Duminy, Manpreet Gony, Daniel Harris, Parthiv Patel, Dale Steyn, Rusty Theron, Ishank Jaggi, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Chris Lynn, Amit Mishra, Tanmay Mishra, Ashish Reddy, Anand Rajan, Ankit Sharma, Tekkami Atchuta Rao, Akash Bhandari, Bharat Chipli, Daniel Christian, Kedar Devdhar, Veer Pratap Singh, Syed Quadri, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Akshath Reddy, Biplab Samantray, Sneha Kishore, Sunny Sohal, Tanmay Srivastava, TP Sudhindra, Arjun Yadav.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Jacques Kallis, Manvinder Bisla, Manoj Tiwary, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Laxmipathy Balaji, Sunil Narine, Chirag Jani, Iqbal Abdulla, Iresh Saxena, Jaidev Unadkat, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Pradeep Sangwan, Sanju Samson, Sarabjit Ladda, Mohammad Shami Ahmed, Brendon McCullum, Brett Lee, Eoin Morgan and Marchant de Lange.


Write Comments