Daredevils take sweet revenge, win by 8 wickets

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, April 24, 2012, 15:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Daredevils crush Warriors in Pune

Pune, Apr 24: Virender Sehwag steers Delhi Daredevils to a comprehensive eight wicket win over Pune Warriors to avenge the defeat against the same opposition, as they reached the total within 16 overs in game 31 of IPL played at Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium on Tuesday.

[Scorecard: Game 31, Pune Warriors Vs Delhi Daredevils]

IPL Schedule | Results | Points Table 


Delhi Daredevils scored 61 runs off the powerplay while their fifty came off 5.1 overs. Virender Sehwag and Kevin Pietersen ensured they reach the target with ease, as they scored 147 within 17 overs. Also Read: Highlights, Game 31; Pune Warriors Vs Delhi Daredevils

Virender Sehwag's 87 off 48 balls ensured that Delhi Daredevils remained on top as they have 10 points to their credit off 7 games. His innings included seven boundaries and 2 sixes. He was awarded the man of the match for his quick fire innings, as he played a captain's knock to help the team reach the target within 16 overs.

The duo added 89 runs for the second wicket while Sehwag added 37 runs with Ross Taylor for the third wicket.

Pietersen's quick fire innings 27 off 21 balls, came to an end in the 12th over, as Delhi Daredevils lost their second wicket. But the wicket would definitely not change the result in Pune's favour but would give some respite to the bowlers as he would have played dangerous shots as well as the match progresses.

A misunderstanding between Jayawardene and Sehwag resulted in the fall of the first wicket as the Sri Lankan was unfortunately run-out for 18.

On the other hand, Warriors after scoring a magnificent 146/2 in 20 overs, could not defend the target as they gave away too many runs during the first half of the innings. With devastating batsmen on crease, Pune Warriors could never expect to defend a mere 147, as Pietersen and Sehwag were at their best making life miserable for the bowlers.

Earlier, Karnataka's Manish Pandey and Robin Uthappa played magnificently to get close to 150 after losing two early wickets.

After deciding to bat first, they lost two wickets in the first two overs, which jolted the Warriors as Ganguly and Ryder were dismissed cheaply.

Pandey, top scored with 80 (55 balls) as his knock included three huge hits to the stands and four boundaries. He was dropped thrice by Pietersen, Nadeem and Negi while he was on 20, 44 and 56 respectively.

Pandey's dropped chances could be the turning point of the game, as the youngster top scored for Warriors and was also involved in a 100-run partnership for third wicket alongwith Robin Uthappa.

Bowlers from both the teams were hammered, as they witnessed Manish Pandey's fireworks at the start while Sehwag and Pietersen joined the party later ensuring the day belonged to the batsmen.

With this victory, Delhi are seated comfortably at the first place as Pune Warriors are placed third in the table.

Playing XIs

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Ross Taylor, Kevin Pietersen, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Naman Ojha, Yogesh Nagar, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Pawan Negi.

Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Murali Kartik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Manish Pandey, Jesse Ryder, Rahul Sharma, Steve Smith, Alfonso Thomas, Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), Luke Wright.

Umpires: S Ravi (India) and Rod Tucker (Australia)

Third Umpire: Johan Cloete (South Africa)

Match Referee: Raju Mukherjee (India)


Write Comments