Battle of big bats as Delhi meet Mumbai on Friday

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, April 26, 2012, 14:10 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Battle of big bats in Delhi on Friday

New Delhi, Apr 26: Mumbai Indians will be certainly boosted after their stunning victory over Kings XI Punjab on Wednesday, but Delhi Daredevils definitely start favourites when they take on Tendulkar and Co at the Ferozshah Kotla in New Delhi on Friday, April 27.

Losing two games in a row, Mumbai Indians took revenge against Kings XI Punjab with the help of Ambati Rayudu and Robin Petersen's innings towards the end on Wednesday. Mumbai had lost the first leg against Punjab with just three balls to spare, while in yet another thrilling end, Mumbai won with only a single ball remaining.

In a return leg match, seventh placed Mumbai Indians will take on league leaders Delhi Daredevils. After the return of the batting legend Sachin Tendulkar, Mumbai Indians top-order seems steady, crossing the 160-run mark in two matches.

While their top-order batting looks in good shape for now, Mumbai Indians lack game changers in their side. West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard has been inconsistent with the bat except his match-winning knock against Rajasthan Royals, but is the highest wicket taker in the side with 11 wickets.

In six innings put together, Harbhajan Singh, the Mumbai captain, has bowled 22 overs for 1/164. He has not produced economical spells which would have compensated for lack of wickets.

With Lasith Malinga ruled out, Mumbai's bowling looks weak despite the likes of RP Singh and Munaf Patel in the side. Their bowlers will be tested against world-class batsmen Virender Sehwag, Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen and Ross Taylor.

Meanwhile, the Daredevils have never batted first in seven matches, majority of their wins are due to good starts at the top order. Sehwag and Pietersen are in good form while Mahela Jayawardene and Ross Taylor have yet to score big.

The bowling attack has been consistent so far, with Morne Morkel leading with 16 wickets while other bowlers like Irfan Pathan and Umesh Yadav have been little too expensive. Wicket-less in his last two encounters, Daredevils sensation Shahbaz Nadeem has had an excellent season so far.

Both teams will look to extend their winning streak. Mumbai Indians will eye revenge after a humiliating defeat in the first leg at the Wankhede on April 16, while Delhi Daredevils will look to stay at the top of the table.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), Mahela Jaywaredene (vice-captain), Naman Ojha (wicket-keeper), Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Y Venugopal Rao, Yogesh Nagar, Irfan Pathan, Roelof van der Merwe, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Andre Russell, Aaron Finch, Doug Bracewell, Ajit Agarkar, Varun Aaron, Aavishkar Salvi, Robin Bist, Sunny Gupta, Pawan Negi, Punit Bisht (wicket-keeper).

Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Abu Nechim, Amitoze Singh, Aiden Blizzard, James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, Y Chahal, Herschelle Gibbs, Davy Jacobs, Richard Levi, Dinesh Kartik (Wicketkeeper), Dhawal Kulkarni, K Yadav, Lasith Malinga, Sushant Marathe, Pragyan Ojha, Munaf Patel, Robin Peterson, Sujit Nayak, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jaydev Shah, Rudra Pratap Singh, T Suman, Pawan Suyal, Aditya Tare, Apporva Wankhede.


Write Comments