Pujara to lead India 'A' team in West Indies tour

Published: Friday, April 27, 2012, 17:40 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pujara to lead India 'A' team

Mumbai, Apr 27: Saurashtra batsman Cheteshwar Pujara was on Friday named as captain of the India 'A' team that will tour the West Indies in June for three four-day matches, three one-dayers and two Twenty20s.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee met at the Cricket Centre here and selected the 15-man squad for the Caribbean tour.

Wriddhiman Saha has been named as Pujara's deputy. The squad also includes Rohit Sharma, who faces stiff competition from the likes of in-form batsmen Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan and Manoj Tiwary.

The fast bowling department will be spearheaded by Ashok Dinda and RP Singh while the spin attack will have Rahul Sharma, Jalaj Saxena and Akshay Darekar.

The tour commences with a four-day match at the Kensington Oval on June 2.

India 'A' Squad: Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Wriddhiman Saha (vice-captain), Abhinav Mukund, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Jalaj Saxena, RP Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Robin Bisht, Akshay Darekar and Sami Ahmed.

The tour itinerary, all matches are against West Indies ‘A’: June 2-5: four day-match (Kensington Oval), June 9 to 12: four day-match (Arnos Vale, St. Vincent), June 16 to 19: four day-match (Beausejour, St. Lucia), June 23 and 24 : Two Twenty20 matches (Queens Park Oval) and June 27, 29 and July 1: Three One-day matches (Grenada National Stadium).


Write Comments