Under-pressure champions CSK face KKR test

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, April 29, 2012, 15:50 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Time for Gambhir Vs Dhoni in Chennai

Chennai, Apr 29: It's the battle between the second and fourth teams in the IPL 5 points table. Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings face off for the first time this season in Game 41 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Monday night.

KKR are in second position with 11 points from nine games while CSK with nine points from as many matches are fourth after Sunday's matches.

Two-time champions CSK are not playing like the holders of two titles. Their latest setback came against the lowly placed Kings XI Punjab on Saturday in Chennai. They were edged out by seven runs.

It will be an important game on Monday for CSK if they have to bounce back to top form. KKR are in good form and they cannot be taken lightly. They arrive in the southern city after crushing Royal Challengers Bangalore by 47 runs on Saturday night.

While KKR batting is clicking with captain Gautam Gambhir in good nick, CSK are worried with their batsmen barring Faf du Plessis.

Skipper MS Dhoni has not yet scored big. He needs to lead from the front. Maybe it would be better if he promotes himself up the order and spends more time in the middle.

Even though the Chidambaram Stadium has been CSK's fortress, it was breached by Punjab on Saturday. KKR will be hoping to go the Punjab way in Chennai.

It is Dhoni vs Gambhir in Chennai. Who will come on top?


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Srikkanth Anirudha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, George Bailey, Doug Bollinger, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Ben Hilfenhaus, Michael Hussey, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Yo Mahesh, Albie Morkel, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Scott Styris, Sudeep Tyagi, Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh, Murali Vijay.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Manvinder Bisla (wicketkeeper), Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Pathan, Manoj Tiwary, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Sunil Narine, Laxmipathy Balaji, Brett Lee, Eoin Morgan, Marchant de Lange, Ryan ten Doeschate, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohammad Shami Ahmed, Jaidev Unadkat, Iqbal Abdulla, Iresh Saxena, Sanju Samson, Sarabjit Singh Ladda, Chirag Jani.


Write Comments