CSK end losing streak, win by 10 runs

Posted by:
Published: Friday, May 4, 2012, 19:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

CSK beat Deccan by 10 runs

Chennai, May 4: Defending champions Chennai Super Kings are back to winning ways after comfortably beating Deccan Chargers by 10 runs in their IPL 5 clash at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

[Scorecard: CSK vs DC]

Chargers dismal show continued this season after struggling to chase down a competitive target of 160. In-form Australian Cameron White led his side right till the end but lack of support in the middle of the innings led to an increase in run-rate. With 20 runs required off the last over, Ben Hilfenhaus sealed the victory for Chennai conceding just 10 runs with a wicket.  

Chargers batsman White led from the front wit an impressive 77-run 53. Shikhar Dhawan scored a steady 36 off 29 balls adding a crucial 68-run stand for the first wicket with White. Despite another 50-run partnership between White and Daniel Christian, Deccan failed to carry on their momentum on a slow Chepauk track.

Deccan skipper Kumar Sangakkara was dismissed for just one run by part-time spinner Suresh Raina with spectacular catch diving to his right. Sangakkara's dismissal raised Chennai's hopes of grabbing a much-needed victory.

White continued his good form scoring his second half-century in a row with a tally of 151 runs in two games. White smashed nine boundaries and two sixes while Christian remained unbeaten at 27 with two fours and a six. The 28-year-old White fell short of his crease in the 19th over when trying to take a difficult second run.

CSK pacers Ben Hilfenhaus and Albie Morkel claimed one wicket apiece in their spells while Suresh Raina claimed a crucial wicket in an over conceding five runs.

Raina was adjudged man of the match for his overall performance, claiming the crucial wicket of Sangakkara with a brilliant catch and his quick innings of 34 off 22 balls.

Chennai ended their two matches losing streak and jumped to fourth spot with 11 points, while Deccan Chargers remain at the bottom with only five points in 10 matches.

Chennai Super Kings innings report:

In their third home game, Chennai Super Kings lost momentum in the middle overs, but managed to score a competitive total of 160/9 Opener Murali Vijay failed to prove a point this time, dismissed early for 14 runs.

Second-wicket stand between Raina and Du Plessis looked dangerous to lead their side to a huge target. But Raina departed after a quick-fire 24-ball 32 with two boundaries and two sixes.

Du Plessis top-scored with 42 runs off 35 balls adding another quick 30 runs with skipper MS Dhoni. CSK's run-flow reduced when Faf du Plessis and Albie Morkel were dismissed in successive overs.

CSK skipper MS Dhoni led his side pass the 150-run mark. Dhoni scored a steady 28-ball 34 before being bowled out by Abhishek Jhunjhunwala in the first ball of the 20th over. Chennai's million-dollar boy Ravindra Jadeja(4) continued his poor show this season.

An impressive bowling performance by Chargers bowlers prevented the Super Kings post a huge total, Amit Mishra, Ashish Reddy, and Jhunjhunwala picked one wicket each, while Veer Pratap Singh claimed two wickets for 35 runs in four overs.

Toss report:

Chennai Super Kings skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first.

Chennai have dropped Mike Hussey, Doug who is replaced by Australian pacer Ben Hilfenhaus, while Murali Vijay makes his way back into the playing XI to open the innings.

JP Duminy is ruled out this tie due to injury. Daniel Christian and Abhishek Jhunjhunwala are included in the Chargers playing XI.

Back-to-back losses kept Chennai on fifth spot in the points table. The reigning champions have been out-of-form after losing two in a row at home.

Deccan Chargers remain at the bottom with five points in nine games, but have found a bit of touch back after two wins over Pune Warriors India.

Playing XI:

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Albie Morkel, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay.

Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Cameron White, Shikhar Dhawan, Parthiv Patel (wk), Dale Steyn, Amit Mishra, Ashish Reddy, Ankit Sharma, Veer Pratap Singh, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Daniel Christian.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Bruce Oxenford (Australia)
Third umpire: Aleem Dar (Pakistan)
Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments