Rajasthan Royals end four-match losing streak

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, May 5, 2012, 17:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Rajasthan end four-match losing streak

Mohali, May 5: Rajasthan Royals put an end to a four-match losing streak as they defeated Kings XI Punjab by 43 runs in Game 48 of IPL 5 here at the PCA Stadium on Saturday night.

[Scorecard: KXIP Vs RR]

Rajasthan did not enjoy a good day in terms of fielding as they dropped three easy catches. But they overcame those lapses to restrict Punjab to 134/8 in 20 overs after posting 177/6.

Shane Watson came up with a fine all-round performance. First he scored a 17-ball 36 and later took wickets. Shaun Tait, playing his first IPL game this season, and Johan Botha also took two scalps each.

Now, Rajasthan are in fifth with 10 points from 11 games. Punjab also have 10 points from 11 games but are placed sixth with a poor net rate than Rajasthan.

Before this win, Rajasthan had lost four games. Their sequence of defeats started on April 21 with a loss to Chennai Super Kings. After that they went down to Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils (twice).

Rajasthan's move to make five changes to their XI paid off. With the 22-yard strip offering some bounce, captain Rahul Dravid's decision to pick Tait was an excellent one.

Rajasthan Royals Innings Report

A collective batting effort took Rajasthan Royals to 177/6 in 20 overs.

Captain Rahul Dravid topscored with 46 while there were useful contributions from Shane Watson (36), Ashok Menaria (34) and Brad Hodge (36).

Ryan Harris was the most successful Punjab bowler with figures of 4/34 in 4 overs. It was a good pitch for batting which has had good bounce for the bowlers.

Hodge's quick 36 off 23 balls in the final overs helped Rajasthan go past 170.

Toss Report

Rajasthan Royals captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bat first against Kings XI Punjab.

Rajasthan have made five changes. Paceman Shaun Tait and spinner Johan Botha will play in place of Owais Shah and Brad Hogg. Dishat Yagnik, the wicketkeeper will come for Shreevats Goswami. Pankaj Singh and Amit Singh are out with Siddharth Trivedi and Stuart Binnay make it to the XI. Tait will be playing his first game this season.

Punjab made only one change, replacing Paras Dogra with Gurkeerat Singh.

Punjab have made a habit of upsetting big teams this year. So far, they have beaten Royal Challengers Bangalore, Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders.

With five wins out of 10 outings, they have 10 points. Having started off with two wins in a row, Rajasthan have faltered midway. They are languishing in the bottom half of the points table. The Jaipur-based team are with eight points from 10 matches.

Playing XIs

Kings XI Punjab: David Hussey (captain), Gurkeerat Singh, Piyush Chawla, Parvinder Awana, Azhar Mahmood, Ryan Harris, Nitin Saini (wicketkeeper), Abhishek Nayar, Mandeep Singh, Praveen Kumar, Shaun Marsh.

Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (captain), Shane Watson, Shaun Tait, Dishant Yagnik (wicketkeeper), Brad Hodge, Ankeet Chavan, Johan Botha, Ashok Menaria, Siddarth Trivedi, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Australia) and Johan Cloete (South Africa)

Third Umpire: S Ravi (India)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)


Write Comments