Will Bhajji & Co be lucky again vs Super Kings?

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, May 5, 2012, 16:38 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL 5: It's Harbhajan vs Dhoni on Sunday

Mumbai, May 5: Suffering from batting failures in the middle order, both Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will look seal victory in their return-leg tie of IPL 5 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The two favourites met during the opening match of the season which ended in a loss to the defending champions at home. Mumbai comprehensively won by eight wickets.

Harbhajan and Co snatched a one run victory against their derby rivals Pune Warriors defending the second lowest total(120) in IPL history.

Tagged favourites to win the title, Mumbai's strong line-up failed to deliver especially with the bat. Playing at home, Mumbai have so far managed to win only two matches in five but have won four in six away matches.

Though several changes were made at the top, the duo of makeshift opener James Fraklin and iconic batsman Sachin Tendulkar have been the most successful opening pair with two half-century partnerships.

Mumbai's iconic batsman Sachin Tendulkar has not fired so far, failing to give a good start at the top. Tendulkar averages 25.60 in 6 innings without a single half century.

Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma and James Franklin are the only batsman to cross the 200 runs-mark. Sharma top-scores for Mumbai with 233 in 10 games with two fifties while Rayudu has been the most consistent batsman with an average of 41.60.

While their batting problems still needs a bit of sorting out, bowlers have fared well in restricting opponents. Bowlers played a vital role in two wins in a row.

Sri Lanka speedster Lasith Malinga leads the wicket tally for Mumbai with 17 wickets with an impressive economy rate of 5.23, his incredible bowling technique makes him the highest wicket-taker in the IPL.

Injury blow for all-rounder Pollard and Australia's Mitchell Johnson forced Mumbai to bring in West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Smith. Pollard was ruled out for a week with a shoulder injury.

Chennai will be playing their first away match after struggling on a slow Chepauk wicket for three matches in a row. MS Dhoni's troops finally put an end to their losing streak at home after clinching a comfortable 10 run victory over Deccan Chargers on Friday.

Opener Faf du Plessis remains a key player at the top while inconsistent batting in the middle continues to hurt the reigning champions.

Local hero R Ashwin has failed to extract turn on a slow track. Ashwin has so far claimed five wickets in 11 matches at an average of 43.80.

Australian pacer Doug Bollinger may have taken the highest wickets (7) but has also conceded the most number of runs with a economy rate of 8.72 in six games. Bollinger was replaced by fellow Aussie pacer Ben Hifenhaus.

Hilfenhaus, playing his first match this season, conceded 31 runs with a wicket against Deccan Charges.

An even contest is expected at the Wankhede as Chennai's away form remains a worry whereas Mumbai have faltered in their own fortress.

Separated by a point, Mumbai have won two in a row to be placed third with 12 points while Chennai are on fourth after 11 games with 11 points.


Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Abu Nechim, Amitize Singh, Aiden Blizzard, James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, Y Chahal, Clint McKay, Herschelle Gibbs, Davy Jacobs, Richard Levi, Rahul Shukla, Dinesh Kartik, Dhawal Kulkarni, K Yadav, Lasith Malinga, Sushant Marathe, Pragyan Ojha, Munaf Patel, Robin Peterson, Sujit Nayak, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jaydev Shah, Rudra Pratap Singh, T Suman, Pawan Suyal, Aditya Tare, Apporva Wankhe.

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Srikkanth Anirudha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, George Bailey, Doug Bollinger, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Ben Hilfenhaus, Michael Hussey, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Yo Mahesh, Albie Morkel, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Scott Styris, Sudeep Tyagi, Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh, Murali Vijay.


Write Comments