Dwayne Smith clinches win in last-ball thriller

Posted by:
Published: Sunday, May 6, 2012, 15:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai beat Chennai by two wickets

Mumbai, May 6: Mumbai Indians all-rounder Dwayne Smith's(9-ball 24) heroic knock helped his side beat Chennai Super Kings by two wickets in yet another final-ball finish in their IPL 5 return-leg tie at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

[Scorecard: MI vs CSK]

With 16 required off six balls, the West Indies all-rounder clinched a last-ball victory for Mumbai after smashing 14 runs off three balls in the 20th over bowled by Ben Hilfenhaus.

Mumbai Indians were well set to chase down the target of 174 when iconic batsman Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma posted a 126-run partnership for second wicket.

But the game turned around after the dismissal of Tendulkar(44-ball 74). Chennai bowlers dismissed four middle-order batsmen conceding just 4 runs in the space of 10 balls.

Million dollar Chennai boy Ravindra Jadeja seemed to have turned the game around in his team's way in the 18th over after claiming two crucial wickets of in-form Rohit Sharma and Ambati Rayudu.

Dwayne Bravo was expensive in his four-over spell but dismissed Dinesh Karthik (11) as Mumbai's middle order crumpled after a good start. In-form Rayudu, Robin Petersen and skipper Harbhajan Singh were dismissed for ducks while Malinga got a taste of his own medicine getting bowled by Hilfenhaus.

Tendulkar scored his first half-century this season with the help of 11 fours and a six. Rohit Sharma's vital 60 off 46 balls provided stability in the 129-run stand. Rohit scored his third fifty smashing sizx boundaries and two sixes.

Mumbai have registered back-to-back wins and remain on third spot with 14 points, while Chennai retain the fourth position with 11 points in 12 games.

Chennai Super Kings innings report:

Skipper MS Dhoni and Dwayne Bravo added a blistering 22-ball 44 partnership to help Chennai cross the 150-run mark towards the end. Bravo played a steady innings of 40 off 31 before being bowled out by Lasith Malinga.

Dhoni managed to score a quick 15-ball 25 with two fours and a six. But the reigning champions were restricted towards the end with the fall of Bravo, Dhoni and Albie Morkel(9) in the space of seven balls along with Malinga's super 20th over conceding four runs with two wickets.

Mumbai pacer Lasith Malinga was the most impressive bowlers with figures of 25/3 in four overs which also helped him retain the Purple Cap with a total of 20 wickets this season. RP Singh did the damage early on with three wickets for 28 runs and a crucial run out of Faf du Plessis.

Earlier, Suresh Raina and Bravo added a crucial 62-run stand for the third wicket after the dismissal of openers. Raina, the top-scorer in IPL, scored a quick 21-ball 36 including three fours and two sixes to continue the momentum set early on.

Chennai's out-of-form batsman Murali Vijay started off brilliantly to give Chennai the perfect start with a opening stand of 47 with in-form Faf du Plessis (9). But a mix up between the two openers resulted in Du Plessis falling short of his crease.

M Vijay registered his highest score of 41 this season, smashing four boundaries and three sixes. Vijay was dropped from the playing XI in several games following his inconsistent batting performance.

Toss Report:

Mumbai Indians skipper Harbhajan Singh won the toss and opted to bowl first against defending champions Chennai Super Kings in their return-leg match.

The Super Kings retained the same playing XI which beat Deccan Chargers while Mumbai have made a couple of changes bringing in left-arm pacer RP Singh who replaces off-spinner Pragyan Ojha and West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Smith is also included for today's clash.

The two favourites met during the opening match of the season which ended in a loss to the defending champions at home. Mumbai comprehensively won by eight wickets, but their batting in the middle order has struggled throughout the tournament.

Harbhajan and Co snatched a one run victory against their derby rivals Pune Warriors while the Super Kings ended their losing streak at home beating Deccan Chargers.

Separated by a point, Mumbai have won two in a row to be placed third with 12 points while Chennai are on fourth after 11 games with 11 points.

Playing XI:

Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Sachin Tendulkar,  James Franklin, Dinesh Kartik, Lasith Malinga, Munaf Patel, Robin Peterson, Rohit Sharma, Rudra Pratap Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Dwayne Smith.

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Albie Morkel, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (Pakistan) and Sudhir Asnani (India)
Third umpire: Billy Doctrove (West Indies)
Match referee: Graeme Labrooy (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments