Kolkata halt Delhi's winning run to go top

Posted by:
Published: Monday, May 7, 2012, 17:18 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

KKR down Delhi to take top spot

New Delhi, May 7: Kolkata Knight Riders ended Delhi Daredevils" four-match winning run and moved to the top of the table in IPL 5 here on Monday night.

[Scorecard: DD Vs KKR]

The clash between the top two sides did not produce a thriller as KKR easily chased down the target of 154 losing four wickets in 18.4 overs in Game 51 at the Feroz Shah Kotla. The win made these two sides swap places. Delhi are now second with 16 points (11 games). KKR are first in the table with 17 points (12 matches).

This was KKR's fourth win in a row and extended their unbeaten run to six in seven games. In between they had a wash out. They have almost sealed a spot in the play-offs.

It was a welcome return to form for Brendon McCullum (56), as he hit his first half century after 17 IPL innings. Earlier, KKR bowlers had done a fine job earlier and the batsmen complemented them.

Delhi Daredevils Innings Report

An excellent bowling effort by Kolkata Knight Riders kept Delhi Daredevils to 153/9 in 20 overs.

After a brisk start by captain Virender Sehwag and David Warner, Delhi's innings lost their way when Jacques Kallis came into the attack.

Kallis removed Sehwag and Warner in quick succession and later Brett Lee, Sunil Narine, Pradeep Sangwan combined well to keep the mighty Delhi batting line-up to an average total.

Kallis and Narine had two wickets apiece. Lee and Sangwan achieved one success each. Lee started off the proceedings with a maiden over.

Irfan Pathan topscored with 36 and led late recovery to cross the 150-run mark. Sehwag took the Orange Cap tallying 468 runs so far, five more than Ajinkya Rahane.

From 40/1 in 3.3 overs, Delhi collapsed to 153/9 in 20 overs. Mahela Jayawardene, who enjoyed two chances, one when umpire failed to spot an edge to wicketkeeper Brendon McCullum and later a drop by the stumper, made 30.

Ross Taylor, who has been struggling for runs, was out for 16 off 27 balls.

Toss Report

Delhi Daredevils captain Virender Sehwag won the toss and decided to bat first against Kolkata Knight Riders.

David Warner is playing his first match this season. He replaces Kevin Pietersen, who has returned home for international duty. India fast bowler Varun Aaron is also in the playing XI for Delhi, as he takes Pawan Negi's place. For Varun too this is first game in IPL 5.

It's homecoming for KKR captain Gautam Gambhir. This game will also witness the battle of Pathan brothers, Irfan and Yusuf.

KKR made two changes, dropping Marchant de Lange and Iqbal Abdulla. They have brought in Brett Lee and Pradeep Sangwan. For left-arm seamer Sangwan, it is a home game as well. He is a Delhi boy and gets his chance for the first time in IPL 5. There is one more Delhi boy in KKR, Rajat Bhatia.

Delhi are packed with four fast bowlers in Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Varun and Irfan. The first three are quick bowlers and can consistently touch the 140kmph mark. The spin department will be handled by left-arm slow bowler Shahbaz Nadeem.

This is the meeting of the table toppers and the second-placed team. Delhi are the leaders in the points table with 16 points (10 matches) while Kolkata are behind them with 15 points (11 games).

Both are entering this match with unbeaten streaks. Delhi are on a roll, with a four-match winning run. Kolkata are on an undefeated run of five games (one wash out included). After that no result due to rain against Deccan Chargers, Kolkata completed a hat-trick of successes against Pune Warriors on Saturday night.

Playing XIs

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), David Warner, Mahela Jayawardene, Ross Taylor, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), Yogesh Nagar, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Varun Aaron.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Jacques Kallis, Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Sunil Narine, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Pradeep Sangwan, Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Brett Lee.

Umpires: Johan Cloete (South Africa) and S Ravi (India)

Third Umpire: Simon Taufel (Australia)

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)


Write Comments