Mandeep, Hussey steer Punjab to victory

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, May 8, 2012, 19:11 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Punjab beat Deccan by 25 runs

Hyderabad, May 8: Deccan Chargers continued their miserable show this season after Kings XI Punjab comprehensively won by 25 runs in their IPL 5 tie at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

[Scorecard: DC vs KXIP]

Chasing a competitive 171, Chargers batsmen failed early on as wickets tumbled in quick succession. Chargers were stunned in the middle overs after losing three wickets in the span of seven balls scoring just 8 runs.

Punjab speedster Praveen Kumar striked early to dismiss in-form batsman Shikhar Dhawan for 8 runs. Opener Daniel Harris and wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel's first wicket stand did not last long as Parthiv (17) was bowled out by Punjab's pace sensation Parvinder Awana.

After two early blows, Chargers had to rely on opener Harris and Cameron White, the Australian duo added a 39-run stand for the third wicket. Harris top-scored for Chargers with a steady 29-ball 30 with two fours and a six.

But all hopes were lost for Deccan when Punjab skipper David Hussey struck twice in his only over. The Australian duo were dismissed in the span of four balls. Harris was caught at point by Awana while dangerman White mistimed his shot for a simple catch to Shaun Marsh.

In the following over, Praveen Kumar almost sealed it for Punjab when Chargers skipper Kumar Sangakkara (4) was caught behind with a spectacular effort from wicketkeeper Nitin Saini.

The triple-strike in eight balls left Chargers struggling towards the end despite a steady 43-run partnership between Akshath Reddy (24) and Abhishek Jhunjhunwala (19). Deccan required a mammoth 35 runs off the last over but managed to score only 10 runs to end their innings at 145/8 in 20 overs.

Parwinder Awana, Praveen Kumar and David Hussey claimed two wicket each while Mandeep Singh was adjudged man-of-the-match for his brilliant knock of 75 off 48 balls.

Kings XI are on fifth spot with 12 points which is equal to Rajasthan Royals, who are on fourth position in the points table.

Deccan Chargers innings report

Kings XI Punjab opener Mandeep Singh's quick fire 48-ball 75 guided his side to a challenging total of 170/5.

Punjab opener Mandeep Singh led his side upfront with a perfect start, cruising to 50 runs in 5.3 overs along with Shaun Marsh. The young 21-year old also registered his highest score in IPL smashing eight boundaries and three sixes while his blistering knock also helped to add a quick 39-run third wicket stand with skipper David Hussey.

Hussey and Mandeep provided the much needed support in the middle after Punjab lost two wicket in quick succession. Deccan pacer Veer Pratap Singh gave Deccan a crucial breakthrough after dismissing Hussey for 16.

Punjab openers Mandeep and Marsh added a quick 55-run for opening wicket but the Australian was bowled out for 22 by spinner Shikhar Dhawan. Ashish Reddy trapped Saini lbw to give Chargers a double break in successive overs.

Despite the quick start, Kings XI lost momentum towards the end after losing the in-form Mandeep, the local lad misjudged Ashish Reddy's delivery just to see the bails off. Punjab's Pakistani all-rounder Azhar Mahmood (14), who is in great form, was run-out due to mix up with David Miller (28).

Miller hit three fours and a six to help Kings XI cross the 160-run mark.

Toss Report

Deccan Chargers skipper Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to field first.

Chargers pacer Dale Steyn is ruled out of this tie due to injury. Abhishek Jhunjhunwala replaces Anand Rajan while Rusty Theron comes in for injured Steyn.

Kings XI Punjab skipper Adam Gilchrist is still injured due to a hamstring injury. Punjab have made three changes bringing in David Miller, Siddharth Chitnis and Ramesh Powar for Gurkeerat Singh, Abhishek Nayar and Ryan Harris.

Chargers have so far won just two in 11 matches and are placed at the bottom of the points table with five points.

With two wins in three games, Kings XI Punjab are placed seventh with 10 points in 11 matches.

Playing XI:

Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Cameron White, Ashish Reddy, Amit Mishra, Daniel Harris, Rusty Theron, Veer Pratap Singh, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Akshath Reddy.

Kings XI Punjab: David Hussey (captain), Ramesh Powar, Piyush Chawla, Parvinder Awana, Azhar Mahmood, David Miller, Nitin Saini (wicketkeeper), Siddharth Chitnis, Mandeep Singh, Praveen Kumar, Shaun Marsh.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Bruce Oxenford (Australia)
Third umpire: SS Shamsuddin (India)
Match referee: Javagal Srinath (India)


Write Comments