Delhi eye top spot; favourites for DC-DD clash

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, May 9, 2012, 16:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Daredevils take on deflated Chargers

Hyderabad, May 9: Having crashed out of IPL 5, Deccan Chargers look to end their campaign on a high with a couple of wins which seems like mission impossible as they take on title favourites Delhi Daredevils at Hyderabad on Thursday.

Kumar Sangakkara-led Chargers have registered only two wins from 12 matches and have secured only 5 points so far which narrate the fate of the team. Their desire to end the tournament with a high seems to be a herculean task as they are facing tough teams in their remaining matches.

Deccan needs a total make-over as they are struggling to get the breakthroughs and restrict the run-flow. Apart from Dale Steyn, none of them have created an impact. Moreover Steyn, missed the previous match due to an injury which makes him a doubtful starter for the match against Virender Sehwag's XI making life difficult for the Chargers.

Facing the second placed Delhi Daredevils, Chargers need an extraordinary effort to pull a win against them at Hyderabad.

Delhi Daredevils on the other hand, are missing the fireworks of Kevin Pietersen as he has left for England, which was evident as Delhi's middle order failed to put up a good score against Gautam Gambhir's Kolkata Knight Riders to lose by 6 wickets.

Virender Sehwag alongwith David Warner would look to capitalise on a depleted Deccan attack, while Ross Taylor who has not fired yet would be keen on getting some runs and contribute to a winning cause. Delhi would be keen on getting their campaign back on track after a loss to KKR on Monday.

With a balanced outfit, Daredevils would be keen on crushing the hapless Chargers to regain their top spot.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), David Warner, Mahela Jayawardene, Ross Taylor, K. Venugopala Rao, Aaron Finch, Unmukt Chand, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Roelof van der Merwe, Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), Ajit Agarkar, Andre Russell, Yogesh Nagar, Doug Bracewell, Umesh Yadav, Punit Bisht, Robin Bist, Avishkar Salvi, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sunny Gupta, Varun Aaron, Prashant Naik, Vikas Mishra, Zafir Patel, Kuldeep Raval, Manpreet Juneja, Glenn Maxwell, Gulam Bodi, Pawan Negi and Tejaswi Yadav.

Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Bharat Chipli, Cameron White, Jean Paul Duminy, Dan Christian, Ashish Reddy, Amit Mishra, Juan Theron, Manpreet Gony, Kedar Devdhar, Daniel Harris, Ishank Jaggi, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Akash Bhandari, Chris Lynn, Tanmay Mishra.

Match starts at 4 PM


Write Comments