Two heavyweights Kolkata and Mumbai clash at Eden

Posted by:
Published: Friday, May 11, 2012, 16:58 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata face Mumbai on Saturday

Kolkata, May 11: After their loss against Royal Challengers Bangalore, struggling Mumbai Indians face in-form Kolkata Knight Riders at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Saturday.

Kolkata Knight Riders, have cemented their play-off berth as they have secured 17 points off 12 games, while Mumbai Indians have secured 14 points from 12 matches to be placed third in the points table.

The only concern for Kolkata currently is Yusuf Pathan's form, as he has scored just 66 runs in 11 games at an average of 8.52, while others are amongst runs. Gautam Gambhir, Jacques Kallis and Brendon McCulllum have been the top three leading run-scorers for KKR this season.

Bowlers have been doing a good job as Sunil Narine has claimed 15 wickets at an average of 12.73 with a best bowling effort of 5/19 in IPL 5. Apart from him, Kallis and Rajat Bhatia are the other leading wicket takers for KKR, as they have grabbed 10 and 08 wickets respectively in this year'd IPL

While Mumbai Indians are struggling to hit form, they have won a few thrillers in the fifth edition of IPL to be placed at the third spot. But the team has to sort out a few issues ahead of its clash against Gautam Gambhir's XI.

Opening stand seems to be an ever-engind problem while Mumbai's middle order has failed many a times this season. Malinga-led bowling attack seems to be the only plus point of Mumbai Indians.

With a slow track on offer, Kolkata Knight Riders start favourites, as they have a balanced team. If McCullum can give KKR a good start, Mumbai might face the heat, as KKR set a target of 190 ofr RCB in their previous encounter at home.


Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Abu Nechim, Amitize Singh, Aiden Blizzard, James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, Y Chahal, Clint McKay, Herschelle Gibbs, Davy Jacobs, Richard Levi, Rahul Shukla, Dinesh Kartik, Dhawal Kulkarni, K Yadav, Lasith Malinga, Sushant Marathe, Pragyan Ojha, Munaf Patel, Robin Peterson, Sujit Nayak, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jaydev Shah, Rudra Pratap Singh, T Suman, Pawan Suyal, Aditya Tare, Apporva Wankhe.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Jacques Kallis, Manvinder Bisla, Manoj Tiwary, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Laxmipathy Balaji, Sunil Narine, Chirag Jani, Iqbal Abdulla, Iresh Saxena, Jaidev Unadkat, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Pradeep Sangwan, Sanju Samson, Sarabjit Ladda, Mohammad Shami Ahmed, Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Brett Lee, Eoin Morgan and Marchant de Lange.

Match starts at 4 PM

Also playing on Saturday, Chennai Super Kings Vs Delhi Daredevils, Chennai at 8 PM


Write Comments