Another crucial game for Rajasthan on Sunday

Posted by:
Published: Saturday, May 12, 2012, 15:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Another crucial game for Rajasthan

Jaipur, May 12: The race to grab the play-off spots in IPL 5 is hotting up. Rajasthan Royals are one of the teams in the contest and they will have to win against Pune Warriors on Sunday evening at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium to keep their dream alive.

It is Game 60 and Rahul Dravid-led Rajasthan are facing lowly-placed Pune. The Sahara-owned team have been dismal in IPL 5, with seven successive losses.

Rajasthan are sixth with 12 points from 13 games. Pune are eighth with eight points off 14 matches (table standings after Friday night's games).

Pune are out of the reckoning for semi-finals. They are playing for pride and if they upset Rajasthan then the Jaipur-based team might find it difficult to finish in the top-four.

Rajasthan were robbed of a win in their previous game when Albie Morkel and Srikkanth Anirudha launched a late rally to secure victory for Chennai Super Kings.

Pune, on Friday night, were handed another defeat, this time by Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium.

Pune's regular captain Sourav Ganguly opted out of the tie and Steve Smith got the responsibility. After the game, Ganguly said he will be back to lead the side on Sunday.


Pune Warriors: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Eklavya Dwivedi, Michael Clarke, Ashok Dinda, Callum Ferguson, Raiphi Gomez, Harpreet Singh, Dheeraj Jadhav, Kamran Khan, Murali Kartik, Harshad Khadiwale, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nathan McCullum, Anustup Majumdar, Mithun Manhas, Angelo Mathews, Mohnish Mishra, Ali Murtaza, Ashish Nehra, Manish Pandey, Wayne Parnell, Sachin Rana, Jesse Ryder, Marlon Samuels, Rahul Sharma, Steven Smith, Tamim Iqbal, Alfonso Thomas, Krishnakant Upadhyay, Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), Shrikant Wagh and Luke Wright.

Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (captain), Stuart Binny, Johan Botha, Deepak Chahar, Ajit Chandila, Dinesh Chandimal, Ankeet Chavan, Aakash Chopra, Paul Collingwood, Aditya Dole, Samad Fallah, Faiz Fazal, Shreevats Goswami (wicketkeeper), Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Ashok Menaria, Sumit Narwal, Pankaj Singh, Amit Paunikar, Ajinkya Rahane, Abhishek Raut, Owais Shah, Pinal Shah, Amit Singh, Shaun Tait, Siddharth Trivedi, Shane Watson and Dishant Yagnik (wicketkeeper).

Match starts at 4PM IST

Also playing on Sunday, Kings XI Punjab Vs Deccan Chargers at 8PM IST, in Mohali


Write Comments