Rayudu, Pollard power Mumbai to sensational win

Posted by:
Published: Monday, May 14, 2012, 15:24 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL 5: Mumbai beat RCB by 5 wickets

Bangalore, May 14: Ambati Rayudu and Kieron Pollard script yet another sensational five wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore and continue their dominance as they have won all the matches played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in IPL so far.

[Scorecard: Game 62: RCB Vs MI]

Royal Challengers Bangalore got a perfect start as they claimed three wickets within 4 overs, as they restricted Mumbai Indians to 32/3 in the first six overs.

Zaheer Khan, Vinay Kumar, Harshal Patel and Muttaiah Muralitharan everyone got a wicket each while they restricted Mumbai to 100/5 in 14.2 overs as Rayudu (81 off 54 balls) and Pollard (52 off 31 balls) stood there to guide the team to a five wicket win. The duo were involved in a 122 run stand for the sixth wicket.

While Zaheer's 17th over was also expensive as he gave away 16 runs, while Vinay's next over conceded 18 runs to ease the pressure off Mumbai Indians, as they needed 23 runs off 12 balls.

Chris Gayle was given the ball to bowl the last over, as Mumbai needed 14 runs off 6 balls. He gave away a six and a boundary and finally another boundary to seal the match in Mumbai's favour. Ambati Rayudu was awarded the man of the match for his match-winning knock.

Royal Challengers Bangalore's First Innings Report: Mayank Agarwal's unbeaten 30-ball 64 lifts Royal Challengers Bangalore to 171/6, as they set a target of 172 for Mumbai Indians to win in Game 62 of IPL 5 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Monday.

Mayank Agarwal, played a sensational knock as he scored a 30 ball 64 to help the team post a challenging 171/6 as he added 24 runs off Munaf Patel's last over as the seventh wicket partnership was worth 37 runs off just 2.1 overs.

After losing Chris Gayle (6), Virat Kohli (3) and Saurabh Tiwary (21) for 47 runs, it looked like RCB's middle-order will be exposed early, de Villiers and Dilshan gave the much needed resistance adding 40 runs off 30 balls for the fourth wicket, as they added just 40 runs off the first six overs.

But de Villiers and Dilshan mis-fired after playing a vital role, as Mayank Agarwal took over from where Dilshan left, as he became the top scorer for RCB with 64 runs. His innings included 4 sixes and 6 boundaries.

While Virat Kohli was unfortunately run-out, Tiwary too ran short of luck as he ruled himself out by hitting the stumps. Moreover, de Villiers' wicket, shattered RCB hopes of getting close to a decent score as Dilshan is waging the battle alone expecting some support from the other-end.

Playing XIs

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, KP Appanna, Harshal Patel, AB de Villiers (wicketkeeper), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chris Gayle, Zaheer Khan, Saurab Tiwary, Muttiah Muralitharan, R Vinay Kumar.

Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Dinesh Kartik, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel, Ambati Rayudu, RP Singh, Dwayne Smith, Herschelle Gibbs

Umpires: Subroto Das (India) and Billy Doctrove (West Indies)

Third Umpire: Sudhir Asnani (India)

Match referee: Graeme Labrooy (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments