Narine, Tiwary lift KKR to second spot

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, May 16, 2012, 19:36 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

KKR beat Mumbai by 32 runs

Mumbai, May 16: An impressive bowling performance from Sunil Narine and a crucial knock from Manoj Tiwary helped Kolkata Knight Riders beat Mumbai Indians by 32 runs in game 65 at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai.

[Scorecard: MI vs KKR]

Mumbai lost a chance to seal a play-offs berth while Kolkata are almost into the last-four with this comprehensive victory.

KKR's West Indies spin magician Narine claimed four crucial wickets along with Jacques Kallis' double-strike claiming the important wickets of Windies duo Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Smith, reduced Mumbai to 108 with five balls to spare.

Mumbai started off slowly with Sachin Tendulkar and Herschelle Gibbs(13). The South African was trapped by KKR spinner Iqbal Abdulla. Tendulkar moved on to top-score for the hosts with 27 runs including a steady 34-run stand with Dinesh Karthik.

Failing to read Narine's spin, Tendulkar was bowled out after leading Mumbai to 60 runs. Soon after the Master Blaster fell, wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik(21) was dismissed by Laxmiptathy Balaji.

KKR all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan claimed the crucial wicket of in-form Ambati Rayudu. Mumbai were out of the match when three wickets fell in quick succession. KKR all-rounder Jacques Kallis struck twice in the 17th over to claim crucial wickets of Windies duo Pollard(8) and Smith(0). Narine added more misery for Mumbai dismissing skipper Harbhajan Singh(1).

KKR edged closer to a comfortable victory when Narine took the important wicket of Rohit Sharma(12). Balaji registered impressive figures of 11/2 in four overs while Narine was adjudged man-of-the-match for his match-winning performance of 15/4 in 3.1 overs.

Mumbai batsmen struggled to cope up with KKR's bowling attack which cost them a place in the play-offs. KKR jump to second spot with 19 points while Mumbai sit on third place with 18 points.

Kolkata Knight Riders innings report:

Kolkata failed to recover from their disastrous start in the second over. RP Singh trapped Brendon McCullum(1) but was controversially given out and veteran Jacques Kallis was bowled out for a duck in the next delivery.

After the early shocks, Kolkata managed to recover through skipper Gautam Gambhir(27) and middle-order batsman Manoj Tiwary, both added a steady 38 run-stand for the third wicket.

But during the ninth over, their in-form skipper Gambhir was dismissed by Mumbai all-rounder Kieron Pollard. KKR's Bangladeshi all-rounder Shakib-Al Hasan(13) added a quick 45 runs along with Manoj Tiwary but failed to carry on the momentum falling in the space of just five balls.

Tiwary top-scored with 41 off 43 balls smashing two fours and two sixes. KKR were struggling at 91/5. Yusuf Pathan, Rajat Bhatia and Sunil Narine pushed their team
to a total of 140.

Mumbai pacer RP Singh claimed two wickets conceding 33 runs in four overs while Munaf Patel, Lasith Malinga, Pollard and Dwayne Smith claimed one wicket apiece.

Toss Report

Mumbai Indians captain Harbhajan Singh won the toss and opted to field first against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Mumbai have retained the same playing XI while Kolkata have made two changes bringing in Shakib Al Hasan and Iqbal Abdulla who replaced Marchant de Lange and Laxmi Ratan Shukla.

Mumbai have won their last two games against Bangalore on Monday and thrashed Kolkata by 27 runs on Saturday to climb up to second place in the points table with 18 points. A win against KKR will seal a play-off spot for Mumbai.

After losing two in a row, Gambhir and Co have slipped down to third spot with just a single point separating the top two sides Mumbai and Delhi Daredevils. Another victory would literally seal their top-four place ahead of their final game against the struggling Pune Warriors on May 19.


Mumbai Indians: Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Dinesh Karthik, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel, Ambati Rayudu, RP Singh, Dwayne Smith, Herschelle Gibbs

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Jacques Kallis, Manoj Tiwary, Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Yusuf Pathan, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Laxmipathy Balaji, Sunil Narine, Shakib Al Hasan, Iqbal Abdulla.

Umpires: Subrat Das (India) and Billy Doctrove (West Indies)
Third umpire: Sudhir Asnani (India)
Match referee: Graeme Labrooy (Sri Lanka)


Write Comments