IPL Spot-fixing: Statement from N Srinivasan

Posted by:
Published: Wednesday, May 16, 2012, 9:58 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Official statement from BCCI president

Mumbai, May 16: BCCI President N Srinivasan, has released an official statement after IPL's Governing Council meeting on spot-fixing row. Five players were suspended for their alleged involvement in spot-fixing on Tuesday.

Having discussed among members of the Governing Council of IPL on the "Sting" operation telecast on TV channels, the President BCCI has immediately appointed Shri Ravi Sawani (Retired CBI officer and former Head of Anti Corruption and Security Unit, ICC) as the Commissioner to make a preliminary enquiry as per Rule 32 (ii) of the Memorandum and Rules and Regulations of BCCI on the involvement of players in illegal activities or activities against the interests of the BCCI and the game. The report submitted by the Commissioner would be forwarded to the Disciplinary Committee of the BCCI for enquiry as per the said Rules and Regulations.

The following players are suspended pending enquiry as per Rule 32(vii) with immediate effect:

1. T.P.Sudhindra
2. Amit Yadav
3. Shalabh Srivastav
4. Abhinav Bali
5. Mohnish Mishra

The above players would not be entitled to participate in any cricket match played under the aegis of the BCCI while under suspension.

N. Srinivasan


Write Comments