Rajasthan need a win to stay in play-off hunt

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, May 17, 2012, 16:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Rajasthan need a win to stay alive

Hyderabad, May 17: The only way Rajasthan Royals can keep their play-off hopes alive, is by winning the remaining two matches. On Friday night, they meet Deccan Chargers here at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

Even if Rajasthan win, that might not guarantee a place in the top four. But, they have an outside chance if they secure four points.

This is Game 68 of IPL 5 and can't alter the home team's fortunes in this edition. They are already out of the reckoning for semi-finals. They are out to salvage some pride and if possible get out of the bottom place from the points table.

Rajasthan have 14 points from as many matches and are placed sixth (standings before the start of Kings XI Punjab and Chennai Super Kings match on Thursday evening). With just five points from 14 clashes, Deccan are ninth and last.

When these two teams met on April 17, Rajasthan had won by five wickets while successfully chasing 197.

Rahul Dravid-led side have better net run rate at the moment. They are surely favourites for this game. Once again, their fortunes will depend on Australian duo of Shane Watson and Shaun Tait, who have been excellent.

Opener Ajinkya Rahane too has to continue his good form with the bat along with Dravid.

For Deccan, Dale Steyn has been outstanding with ball. He has been the lone bright spot in the bowling department for the Hyderabad-based franchise.

In batting, opener Shikhar Dhawan, Cameron White are key.

Will Deccan upset Rajasthan and scuttle their chances of play-offs? They are capable. We will wait and watch.


Deccan Chargers: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Bharat Chipli, Cameron White, Jean Paul Duminy, Dan Christian, Ashish Reddy, Amit Mishra, Juan Theron, Manpreet Gony, Kedar Devdhar, Daniel Harris, Ishank Jaggi, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Akash Bhandari, Chris Lynn, Tanmay Mishra.

Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (captain), Stuart Binny, Johan Botha, Deepak Chahar, Ajit Chandila, Dinesh Chandimal, Ankeet Chavan, Aakash Chopra, Paul Collingwood, Aditya Dole, Samad Fallah, Faiz Fazal, Shreevats Goswami, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Ashok Menaria, Sumit Narwal, Pankaj Singh, Amit Paunikar, Ajinkya Rahane, Abhishek Raut, Owais Shah, Pinal Shah, Amit Singh, Shaun Tait, Siddharth Trivedi, Shane Watson and Dishant Yagnik (wicketkeeper).

Match starts at 8PM IST


Write Comments