Deccan knock Rajasthan out of IPL 5

Posted by:
Published: Friday, May 18, 2012, 17:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Deccan knock Rajasthan out

Hyderabad, May 18: Deccan Chargers knocked Rajasthan Royals out of IPL 5 with a five-wicket victory in Game 68 here at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Friday night.

[Scorecard: DC Vs RR]

IPL 5: Points Table

The victory was set up by the bowlers by restricting Rajasthan to 126. Dale Steyn and Amit Mishra were impressive. Though, the chase was easy initially, there were few hiccups in the middle. They reached the target in the 19th over losing five wickets.

This was only the third victory of the season for Deccan, in 15 attempts. Though they are already out of play-offs, they salvaged some pride with this success which was only second win on their home ground.

For Rajasthan, in the crunch time, their batting failed. With 14 points from 15 games, they have only one match to complete the league. Even if they win that, they cannot qualify for top-four.

Young opener Akshat Reddy was the chief contributor in Deccan's chase with 42 runs. Shikhar Dhawan and JP Duminy supplied crucial knocks of 26 and 24 respectively.

Earlier, Steyn and Mishra took two wickets apiece as Deccan Chargers restricted Rajasthan Royals to 126/8 in 20 overs.

Only captain Rahul Dravid showed some fight with a 39. The rest of the batsmen failed to make useful contributions against a disciplined bowling attack of the home team. This is the lowest total of Rajasthan this season.

Toss Report

Rajasthan Royals captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and chose to to bat first against Deccan Chargers.

Deccan have rested captain Kumar Sangakkara and Cameron White is leading. Dale Steyn is back. Australian Chris Lynn makes his IPL debut for Deccan. For Rajasthan, injured Brad Hodge misses out and Owais Shah comes back. Lynn, 22, is a right-hand batsman.

Rajasthan have to win their remaining two matches to stay in contention for a play-off berth.

When these two teams met on April 17, Rajasthan had won by five wickets while successfully chasing 197.

Playing XIs

Deccan Chargers: Cameron White (captain), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Chris Lynn, Amit Mishra, Manpreet Gony, JP Duminy, Dale Steyn, Veer Pratap Singh, Akshath Reddy, Ashish Reddy.

Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (captain), Stuart Binny, Johan Botha, Ajit Chandila, Shreevats Goswami (wicketkeeper), Ashok Menaria, Ajinkya Rahane, Owais Shah, Shaun Tait, Siddharth Trivedi, Shane Watson.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Australia) and S Ravi (India)

Third Umpire: Johan Cloete (South Africa)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (India)


Write Comments